Go Back   Flash Flash Revolution > General Discussion > Critical Thinking
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-18-2005, 06:17 PM   #1
msbrunnettemickey
FFR Player

Send a message via AIM to msbrunnettemickey Send a message via MSN to msbrunnettemickey
Default Eating Disorders

In my school there is a group called "The world of difference" for sophomores, who go to the middle school, and talk to the 8th graders about health life (family life). When i was a sophomore, i was asked to write a guide about eating disorders to show them what they should do if they know someone who has it, and to learn about the types of eating disorders and it went like this...:

What are Eating Disorders?

In the United States, we ofter see messages that seem to say being thin is very important. Many of the dancers, actors and models we see on television, in movies and in advertising are thin, and many people think they want to look like them.
Trying too hard to be thin can lead to eating disorders, or problems around eating. Some dancers, actora and models have eating disorders. So do jockeys and flight attendants. More women than men have eating disorders, but men are affected, too. Many young people have eating disorders.
Often people with eating disorders have low self-esteem. They may thing: If i am thin, i will be happy, popular, successful and self-confident.
The most common eating disorders are anorexia nervosa and bulimia.
Anorexia means "a lack of appetite for food." People with anorexia nervosa feel fat even if they are very thin. They are very concerned about body size. They spend a lot of time thinking about eating, food, weight and body image.
They cit down the amount of food they eat and exercise a lot to lose weight. They may hide food or throw it away. Sometimes, peoplewith anorexia nervosa don't believe they have a problem with food or eating.