Go Back   Flash Flash Revolution > Gaming > Stepmania
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-16-2010, 06:52 PM   #1
Goldenwind
FFR Simfile Author
FFR Simfile AuthorFFR Veteran
 
Goldenwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Age: 36
Posts: 762
Default How hard would it be to program a dynamic speed mod?

For example's sake, I read 700-750 by default.
This means that on 140 I use 5x, 170 I use 4x, 300 I use 3.5, etc

From song to song, I have to go in and change my mods.
What if we didn't have to?

Using Cmods is one type of solution, however disqualifies you for score. Yes, you can disable disqualification, but it also makes the song more bland, which isn't what I want.

How hard would it be to add in functionality for a dynamic speed mod?

Etc, the song you choose is 100-200BPM.
The code would take 200BPM as the marker, say that 750/200 = 3.75, and then play the song on 3.75.

The mod itself would need to be similar to Cmods, in the sense it has a pre-set number in mind (S700 or something)
__________________
They say there's a sun in the sky...
Goldenwind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 07:12 PM   #2
leonid
I am leonid
Retired StaffFFR Simfile AuthorFFR Music ProducerD7 Elite KeysmasherFFR Veteran
 
leonid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: MOUNTAIN VIEW
Age: 35
Posts: 8,080
Default Re: How hard would it be to program a dynamic speed mod?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goldenwind View Post
Etc, the song you choose is 100-200BPM.
The code would take 200BPM as the marker, say that 750/200 = 3.75, and then play the song on 3.75.
Doing this alone is not difficult, but this will not work in most cases because a lot of xmod simfiles temporarily double the bpm for a split seconds to confuse players out.

Calculating xmod based on average bpm will not work very well either because of the simfiles with negative bpm tricks.

'Default bpm' of a simfile is not related to the overall bpm distribution, so there should be a way that either you or simfile authors can state the default bpm.
__________________



Proud member of Team No
leonid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 07:19 PM   #3
Goldenwind
FFR Simfile Author
FFR Simfile AuthorFFR Veteran
 
Goldenwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Age: 36
Posts: 762
Default Re: How hard would it be to program a dynamic speed mod?

Quote:
Originally Posted by leonid View Post
Doing this alone is not difficult, but this will not work in most cases because a lot of xmod simfiles temporarily double the bpm for a split seconds to confuse players out.

Calculating xmod based on average bpm will not work very well either because of the simfiles with negative bpm tricks.

'Default bpm' of a simfile is not related to the overall bpm distribution, so there should be a way that either you or simfile authors can state the default bpm.
In my head, I have it going by maximum display BPM.

There's a song on the local arcade that is 49-784BPM, but is really 196 (Goes down to 1/4x, and up to 4x). Personally I believe this is sloppy, and the stepauthor should've set the display BPM to 196, to give the most useful information possible (Or 98-196 if those are the speeds the player needs to consider when choosing). I use this practice on any charts I make.

Despite this, what you're saying is correct - whether the stepartists are sloppy or not, fact is, songs like that exist. You have to admit, however, that the number of songs with "sloppy" display BPM are small, relative to those with proper.

In an imperfect world, it wouldn't make this strategic implementation "perfect", but it *would* be a big improvement.

You say it wouldn't be difficult. How might it be done, if I may ask?
__________________
They say there's a sun in the sky...
Goldenwind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 07:22 PM   #4
Patashu
FFR Simfile Author
Retired StaffFFR Simfile Author
 
Patashu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: we traced the call...it's coming from inside the house
Age: 33
Posts: 8,609
Send a message via AIM to Patashu Send a message via MSN to Patashu Send a message via Yahoo to Patashu
Default Re: How hard would it be to program a dynamic speed mod?

There's been some talk about a 'M-mod' series of speedmods that are xmods that adjust their multiplier such that the highest bpm in the song scrolls at the speed listed.
For songs that use doubling, quadrupling, octupling bpm gimmicks you can simply give yourself M(your speed/2), M(your speed/4) etc
__________________
Patashu makes Chiptunes in Famitracker:
http://soundcloud.com/patashu/8bit-progressive-metal-fading-world
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v216/Mechadragon/smallpackbanner.png
Best non-AAAs: ERx8 v2 (14-1-0-4), Hajnal (3-0-0-0), RunnyMorning (8-0-0-4), Xeno-Flow (1-0-0-3), Blue Rose (35-2-0-20), Ketsarku (14-0-0-0), Silence (1-0-0-0), Lolo (14-1-0-1)
http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee301/xiaoven/solorulzsig.png
Patashu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 07:36 PM   #5
Goldenwind
FFR Simfile Author
FFR Simfile AuthorFFR Veteran
 
Goldenwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Age: 36
Posts: 762
Default Re: How hard would it be to program a dynamic speed mod?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patashu View Post
There's been some talk about a 'M-mod' series of speedmods that are xmods that adjust their multiplier such that the highest bpm in the song scrolls at the speed listed.
For songs that use doubling, quadrupling, octupling bpm gimmicks you can simply give yourself M(your speed/2), M(your speed/4) etc
That's actually pretty smart, considering.

Is this part of default Stepmania code?
And if not, how could it be implemented?
__________________
They say there's a sun in the sky...
Goldenwind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 07:58 PM   #6
stargroup100
behanjc & me are <3'ers
FFR Simfile AuthorFFR Music Producer
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,051
Default Re: How hard would it be to program a dynamic speed mod?

I actually had a similar concept for KBO. Hopefully we'll find the time to try coding it soon.
__________________
Rhythm Simulation Guide
Comments, criticism, suggestions, contributions, etc. are all welcome.

Piano Etude Demon Fire sheet music
stargroup100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 08:34 PM   #7
TC_Halogen
Rhythm game specialist.
Retired StaffFFR Simfile AuthorFFR Music ProducerD8 Godly KeysmasherFFR Veteran
 
TC_Halogen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bel Air, Maryland
Age: 32
Posts: 19,376
Send a message via AIM to TC_Halogen Send a message via Skype™ to TC_Halogen
Default Re: How hard would it be to program a dynamic speed mod?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patashu View Post
There's been some talk about a 'M-mod' series of speedmods that are xmods that adjust their multiplier such that the highest bpm in the song scrolls at the speed listed.
For songs that use doubling, quadrupling, octupling bpm gimmicks you can simply give yourself M(your speed/2), M(your speed/4) etc
This actually exists in later versions of OpenITG. Not sure how this would work in SM, though.
TC_Halogen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 09:03 PM   #8
jimerax
Retired StaffFFR Simfile AuthorFFR Music ProducerFFR Veteran
 
jimerax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 8,185
Send a message via AIM to jimerax Send a message via MSN to jimerax Send a message via Skype™ to jimerax
Default Re: How hard would it be to program a dynamic speed mod?

If the file has complicated bpm changes, it's hard to determine mods automatically.

not sure we should use highest, lowest, or average (arithmetic average or geometrical average) BPM as the song's default BPM..
jimerax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 10:55 PM   #9
Goldenwind
FFR Simfile Author
FFR Simfile AuthorFFR Veteran
 
Goldenwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Age: 36
Posts: 762
Default Re: How hard would it be to program a dynamic speed mod?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimerax View Post
If the file has complicated bpm changes, it's hard to determine mods automatically.

not sure we should use highest, lowest, or average (arithmetic average or geometrical average) BPM as the song's default BPM..
People want the notes spaced out as much as possible.
For a song that's 100-200, they will choose a speed mod based on 200.

So based on this, you pick based on maximum.

A song that doesn't just half BPM? Daikenkai is something like 142-172. Again, you go by 172, or the maximum.

If it's 100-200, but briefly doubles to 400, the display BPM should be corrected to 100-200. In this case, you go by the maximum display BPM.

So in short:
If display BPM is defined, go by the maximum of that.
If not, go by the maximum BPM

For the small (And yes, it really is quite small) number of songs that have double BPM, and don't set the display BPM, the player will often recognize this (As they have to already), and will be forced to choose a default speed modifier.


So in the majority of cases, this would work, and save the player time going to the options screen and doing calculations.

In the worst-case scenario, things will work exactly how they do now. (No improvement, but no loss either)
__________________
They say there's a sun in the sky...
Goldenwind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 12:02 AM   #10
AsphyxZero
Banned
FFR Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Age: 33
Posts: 1,823
Default Re: How hard would it be to program a dynamic speed mod?

While you guys are going on about math and stuff, I'm going to play stepmania.
AsphyxZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 01:23 AM   #11
leonid
I am leonid
Retired StaffFFR Simfile AuthorFFR Music ProducerD7 Elite KeysmasherFFR Veteran
 
leonid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: MOUNTAIN VIEW
Age: 35
Posts: 8,080
Default Re: How hard would it be to program a dynamic speed mod?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AsphyxZero View Post
While you guys are going on about math and stuff, I'm going to play stepmania.
fine but where's math I don't see any
__________________



Proud member of Team No
leonid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 02:06 AM   #12
jimerax
Retired StaffFFR Simfile AuthorFFR Music ProducerFFR Veteran
 
jimerax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 8,185
Send a message via AIM to jimerax Send a message via MSN to jimerax Send a message via Skype™ to jimerax
Default Re: How hard would it be to program a dynamic speed mod?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goldenwind View Post
So in short:
If display BPM is defined, go by the maximum of that.
If not, go by the maximum BPM
In non-defined case, there's a risk if the file has gimmicks that use super high bpms.

It's hard to be almighty for an automatical method like this maybe.
jimerax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 02:22 AM   #13
AsphyxZero
Banned
FFR Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Age: 33
Posts: 1,823
Default Re: How hard would it be to program a dynamic speed mod?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goldenwind View Post
For example's sake, I read 700-750 by default.
This means that on 140 I use 5x, 170 I use 4x, 300 I use 3.5, etc...

...the song you choose is 100-200BPM.
The code would take 200BPM as the marker, say that 750/200 = 3.75, and then play the song on 3.75.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patashu View Post
...A song that doesn't just half BPM? Daikenkai is something like 142-172. Again, you go by 172, or the maximum.

If it's 100-200, but briefly doubles to 400, the display BPM should be corrected to 100-200. In this case, you go by the maximum display BPM.

So in short:
If display BPM is defined, go by the maximum of that.
If not, go by the maximum BPM

For the small (And yes, it really is quite small) number of songs that have double BPM, and don't set the display BPM, the player will often recognize this (As they have to already), and will be forced to choose a default speed modifier.


So in the majority of cases, this would work, and save the player time going to the options screen and doing calculations.
Math.
AsphyxZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 04:57 AM   #14
who_cares973
FFR Player
 
who_cares973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: :U
Age: 35
Posts: 15,407
Send a message via AIM to who_cares973 Send a message via MSN to who_cares973 Send a message via Yahoo to who_cares973 Send a message via Skype™ to who_cares973
Default Re: How hard would it be to program a dynamic speed mod?

i just use 2.5x for everything
__________________
who_cares973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 12:01 AM   #15
Izzy
Snek
FFR Simfile AuthorFFR Veteran
 
Izzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas
Age: 34
Posts: 9,192
Default Re: How hard would it be to program a dynamic speed mod?

At the local ITG machine they have a M550 and I never understood what it did because it was always to slow for me to read.
Izzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 12:04 AM   #16
leonid
I am leonid
Retired StaffFFR Simfile AuthorFFR Music ProducerD7 Elite KeysmasherFFR Veteran
 
leonid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: MOUNTAIN VIEW
Age: 35
Posts: 8,080
Default Re: How hard would it be to program a dynamic speed mod?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AsphyxZero View Post
Math.
That's just arithmetic..... :S but yeah math
__________________



Proud member of Team No
leonid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 08:39 AM   #17
D B Cooper
FFR Player
 
D B Cooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Age: 98
Posts: 27
Default Re: How hard would it be to program a dynamic speed mod?

very hard......
__________________
Evolution is not a science tardass.

D B Cooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright FlashFlashRevolution