Old 11-27-2005, 12:01 PM   #1
MalReynolds
CHOCK FULL O' NUTRIENTS
Retired StaffFFR Veteran

Send a message via AIM to MalReynolds
Default The Best Intentions (Good Job)

This is long, so stay with it.

-

I had been traveling from town to town, free from attachment in this modern world, until I entered the small borough of Addersville Tennessee. It was a small town, friendly people out sweeping porches and cleaning the storefront windows, happy to see everyone and anyone, new or not. I was a freelance photographer who was just looking for any place that would be a good place to set up nature shots, create atmosphere. More than anything, it was my goal by the end of the year to put out a calendar, and this town looked like just the place to begin.

It wasn’t too heavily wooded, although there were trees lining the streets. At the end of the main street was a large hill, covered with a thick blanket of foliage extending to the top and disappearing over the other side. I crested the hill the first day I was in town and gazed down the other side, looking at nothing but the tops of trees and a small creek that cut through the valley bed effortlessly.

There was no local hotel for me to stay at, Addersville being so out of the way from modern society and any highway. It was a long look for a place to stay, although I’m sure if I had just worked up the nerve I could have knocked on any number of doors and gotten a hot meal and a bed. But I decided against the vagabond begging game and walked into the diner, taking a seat at the counter. The waitress walked up with a pot of coffee in one hand, smiling a knowing half smile.

“Hey, hon. What can I do you for?”

“Do you know any place I could stay while I shoot some pictures for a calendar?”

The woman shrugged, walking through the back door and into what I could only assume was the kitchen area. Before the in/out door could make a full swing, she was back with a small slip of paper in one hand. She slid it over the counter.