Go Back   Flash Flash Revolution > Gaming > Stepmania
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-3-2014, 08:37 AM   #1
Niggle
FFR Player

Default Any advice for a newcomer?

I just started playing StepMania the other day and I am having a wonderful time.

I'm wondering if there are any generally recommended settings to use? I see many dozens of options and variables that can be fiddled with; are there any settings that are particularly important to modify that a new player might not be aware of? Right now everything is set to default. I'm on a 15" Retina Macbook Pro.

I was reading a thread on the Stepmania FlashFlashRevolution forum and someone recommended to use a noteskin other than the default. Are there any noteskins in particular that you guys would recommend? I tried the Metal noteskin but it caused my computer to lag like crazy for some reason. As for themes, I'm using the UltraLight theme and I love it.

Outside of the settings and noteskin(s), is there any general advice that you would give to someone just starting out in the game?

Thank you very much!
Niggle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-3-2014, 08:50 AM   #2
ffr212
FFR Player
FFR Veteran

Default Re: Any advice for a newcomer?

Your name.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fgk4Cd7h6ak

As for SM, seeing as you are using SM5 99.9% of the reactions you'll get from this question will be "switch to 3.95."
-----------------------
Noteskins:

http://www.staiain.net/StepMania/smw....php/Noteskins

(Make sure they are usable on your version of SM) -I love Arch0wl's skin.
-----------------------
Some settings that you may want to change but can't see will be in: C:\Users\<your user name>\AppData\Roaming\StepMania 5 -- there you can add custom speed mods, which is much easier to do in SM5 because of the need not to add Language ini and metrics ini info.
-----------------------

As for settings it's really different for everybody but the most common is a CMOD of 850> with DISTANT mod on.