Old 12-17-2018, 08:23 PM   #1
Moonlight_X
Hates Boo Flags
FFR Veteran
 
Moonlight_X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Burnie, Tasmania
Age: 30
Posts: 315
Talking FFR R^3 Options Setup + Your Setup

Hi guys, apologies if this is discussed in another thread anywhere (I did look) just want to know everyones OPTIONS setup (receptor Spacing, Note Scale etc) I want to get mine comfortable as how I used to have it, but I have been away for a while and want to see what the more advanced users are running (including what keyboard you may use) I want to improve and stick to a solid formula as my skills arn't as good as they were 8 years ago, this is my options setup:




Also am using a Microsoft comfort Curve keyboard

Last edited by Moonlight_X; 12-17-2018 at 08:29 PM..
Moonlight_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2018, 08:35 PM   #2
gold stinger
Signature Extraordinare~~
Simfile JudgeFFR Simfile AuthorD7 Elite KeysmasherFFR Veteran
 
gold stinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Age: 24
Posts: 5,301
Send a message via Skype™ to gold stinger
Default Re: FFR R^3 Options Setup + Your Setup

sure here you go.



Also should add that I use an alpha copy of the engine nicknamed 'Byron', which removes the odd timing feature for the regular game when it is 60fps or higher. You can try it out over here, may give improved results, or not. I have had mixed responses from people.

http://www.flashflashrevolution.com/...d.php?t=149181

Noteskin that I use is Custom85_FFR which is located in this spreadsheet: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets...sZBWJ0rno/edit
Instructions and sharing of custom noteskins happens over in this thread: http://www.flashflashrevolution.com/...d.php?t=149126
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by YoshL View Post
butts.



- Tosh 2014




Last edited by gold stinger; 12-17-2018 at 08:40 PM..
gold stinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2018, 08:45 PM   #3
Moonlight_X
Hates Boo Flags
FFR Veteran
 
Moonlight_X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Burnie, Tasmania
Age: 30
Posts: 315
Default Re: FFR R^3 Options Setup + Your Setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by gold stinger View Post
sure here you go.



Also should add that I use an alpha copy of the engine nicknamed 'Byron', which removes the odd timing feature for the regular game when it is 60fps or higher. You can try it out over here, may give improved results, or not. I have had mixed responses from people.

http://www.flashflashrevolution.com/...d.php?t=149181

Noteskin that I use is Custom85_FFR which is located in this spreadsheet: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets...sZBWJ0rno/edit
Instructions and sharing of custom noteskins happens over in this thread: http://www.flashflashrevolution.com/...d.php?t=149126
Thanks for that, nice scores BTW. I will give this a go for sure very helpful
Moonlight_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2018, 08:45 PM   #4
tosh
My Name is Boobs
FFR Veteran
 
tosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Virginia
Age: 28
Posts: 902
Default Re: FFR R^3 Options Setup + Your Setup

Also using Byron (like gold stinger mentioned). Have other settings in a spoiler to provide context for the settings on the main page.




Last edited by tosh; 12-17-2018 at 08:45 PM..
tosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2018, 08:49 PM   #5
IwasAsquidOnce
FFR Veteran
FFR Veteran
 
IwasAsquidOnce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 361
Send a message via Skype™ to IwasAsquidOnce
Default Re: FFR R^3 Options Setup + Your Setup



#AirEdition
#ConcaveIsTheFuture

Last edited by IwasAsquidOnce; 12-17-2018 at 08:49 PM..
IwasAsquidOnce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2018, 08:52 PM   #6
Moonlight_X
Hates Boo Flags
FFR Veteran
 
Moonlight_X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Burnie, Tasmania
Age: 30
Posts: 315
Default Re: FFR R^3 Options Setup + Your Setup

The Byron Edition wont open on my computer, it just sits there with a white screen, disabled vertical sync also.
Moonlight_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2018, 08:57 PM   #7
Psychotik
Heckin' Cute
FFR Simfile AuthorFFR Veteran
 
Psychotik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Stepmania Cavern
Age: 28
Posts: 1,628
Default Re: FFR R^3 Options Setup + Your Setup

This works for me, with Delta White noteskin.
__________________
Check out my Speedruns
Quote:
Originally Posted by TEEX
I want me a grrrl that will call me at 4 in the morning and ask me what my best is on Ants.
Psychotik is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2018, 09:15 PM   #8
rushyrulz
Digital Dancing!
Multiplayer ModeratorEvent StaffFFR Simfile AuthorFFR Music ProducerD7 Elite KeysmasherFFR Veteran
 
rushyrulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: 72 billion club, NE
Age: 27
Posts: 12,443
Default Re: FFR R^3 Options Setup + Your Setup



screencut is here

__________________

rushyrulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2018, 10:00 PM   #9
mrpreggers
D7 Elite Keymasher
D7 Elite KeysmasherFFR Veteran
 
mrpreggers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Age: 26
Posts: 3,284
Default Re: FFR R^3 Options Setup + Your Setup

55 IS the best framerate
__________________
mrpreggers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2018, 11:00 PM   #10
Moonlight_X
Hates Boo Flags
FFR Veteran
 
Moonlight_X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Burnie, Tasmania
Age: 30
Posts: 315
Default Re: FFR R^3 Options Setup + Your Setup

Thanks everyone, has been very helpful
Moonlight_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2018, 11:43 PM   #11
gold stinger
Signature Extraordinare~~
Simfile JudgeFFR Simfile AuthorD7 Elite KeysmasherFFR Veteran
 
gold stinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Age: 24
Posts: 5,301
Send a message via Skype™ to gold stinger
Default Re: FFR R^3 Options Setup + Your Setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrpreggers View Post
55 IS the best framerate
240 is the best framerate, but only on Byron, which makes it superior to the standard release.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by YoshL View Post
butts.



- Tosh 2014



gold stinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2018, 11:44 PM   #12
gold stinger
Signature Extraordinare~~
Simfile JudgeFFR Simfile AuthorD7 Elite KeysmasherFFR Veteran
 
gold stinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Age: 24
Posts: 5,301
Send a message via Skype™ to gold stinger
Default Re: FFR R^3 Options Setup + Your Setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by IwasAsquidOnce View Post
#AirEdition
#ConcaveIsTheFuture
holy fuck I never thought I would see another concave player in my life
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by YoshL View Post
butts.



- Tosh 2014



gold stinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2018, 11:46 PM   #13
rushyrulz
Digital Dancing!
Multiplayer ModeratorEvent StaffFFR Simfile AuthorFFR Music ProducerD7 Elite KeysmasherFFR Veteran
 
rushyrulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: 72 billion club, NE
Age: 27
Posts: 12,443
Default Re: FFR R^3 Options Setup + Your Setup

the fuck is Byron
__________________

rushyrulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2018, 11:50 PM   #14
Moonlight_X
Hates Boo Flags
FFR Veteran
 
Moonlight_X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Burnie, Tasmania
Age: 30
Posts: 315
Default Re: FFR R^3 Options Setup + Your Setup

That Byron link wont open, any idea of how it can load ? Just getting a white screen. Wouldnt mind trying it.
Moonlight_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2018, 11:53 PM   #15
gold stinger
Signature Extraordinare~~
Simfile JudgeFFR Simfile AuthorD7 Elite KeysmasherFFR Veteran
 
gold stinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Age: 24
Posts: 5,301
Send a message via Skype™ to gold stinger
Default Re: FFR R^3 Options Setup + Your Setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moonlight_X View Post
That Byron link wont open, any idea of how it can load ? Just getting a white screen. Wouldnt mind trying it.
Byron isn't a link...?
It's a download, just like the regular standalone. Only link here is the forum link to it unless you are referencing to something else, not sure how a forum link can't open.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by YoshL View Post
butts.



- Tosh 2014




Last edited by gold stinger; 12-17-2018 at 11:54 PM..
gold stinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2018, 11:54 PM   #16
Moonlight_X
Hates Boo Flags
FFR Veteran
 
Moonlight_X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Burnie, Tasmania
Age: 30
Posts: 315
Default Re: FFR R^3 Options Setup + Your Setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by gold stinger View Post
Byron isn't a link...?
It's a download, just like the regular standalone. Only link here is the forum link unless you are referencing to something else, not sure how a forum link can't open.
No no, I mean I have downloaded, unzipped, opened R3Air.exe (Byron version) and it just pops up the window and it just stays white and nothing happens.
Moonlight_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2018, 11:56 PM   #17
gold stinger
Signature Extraordinare~~
Simfile JudgeFFR Simfile AuthorD7 Elite KeysmasherFFR Veteran
 
gold stinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Age: 24
Posts: 5,301
Send a message via Skype™ to gold stinger
Default Re: FFR R^3 Options Setup + Your Setup

Not sure mate. I have vertical sync set to off whilst using NVIDIA drivers. Works just like the regular standalone for me. I have had mixed responses, so, not sure what the issue is there. It's an Alpha, would probably be worth talking to Velocity on the discord maybe with your particular issue if you followed the guidelines in that thread and it doesn't work.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by YoshL View Post
butts.



- Tosh 2014




Last edited by gold stinger; 12-17-2018 at 11:57 PM..
gold stinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2018, 12:01 AM   #18
Moonlight_X
Hates Boo Flags
FFR Veteran
 
Moonlight_X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Burnie, Tasmania
Age: 30
Posts: 315
Default Re: FFR R^3 Options Setup + Your Setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by gold stinger View Post
Not sure mate. I have vertical sync set to off whilst using NVIDIA drivers. Works just like the regular standalone for me. I have had mixed responses, so, not sure what the issue is there. It's an Alpha, would probably be worth talking to Velocity on the discord maybe with your particular issue if you followed the guidelines in that thread and it doesn't work.
Hmm unsure, unless there is a newer link for it ? Yeah I turned VSYNC off before I tried to open it also. Might have more of a read in there
Moonlight_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2018, 10:00 AM   #19
Zageron
Zageron E. Tazaterra
Infrastructure & Game
DeveloperFFR Veteran
 
Zageron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 6,442
Default Re: FFR R^3 Options Setup + Your Setup

If you open the properties for the executable, is it unblocked?
You should also make sure you have not moved it from the folder you unzipped it in to, you need all of the archive present.
Zageron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2019, 10:46 PM   #20
Moonlight_X
Hates Boo Flags
FFR Veteran
 
Moonlight_X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Burnie, Tasmania
Age: 30
Posts: 315
Default Re: FFR R^3 Options Setup + Your Setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zageron View Post
If you open the properties for the executable, is it unblocked?
You should also make sure you have not moved it from the folder you unzipped it in to, you need all of the archive present.
Hey, sorry for the late reply. But I did get it to work (for anyone else who gets the white screen when they open it) I changed the properties for compatibility mode for Windows 7 and it worked (I have Windows 10 yuck) that seemed to fix the issue of it not opening
Moonlight_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright FlashFlashRevolution