Go Back   Flash Flash Revolution > General Discussion > Technology
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-27-2014, 03:39 PM   #1
choof
Banned
Retired StaffFFR Simfile AuthorD7 Elite KeysmasherFFR Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8,563
Default compiling stepmania from source

using the current instructions at http://www.stepmania.com/wiki/Build_...ource_in_Linux gets me the following error:

bash: ./Utils/build.sh: No such file or directory

maybe this is because I used git instead of mercurial? I'm at a loss for what to do here lol
choof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 05:28 PM   #2
TC_Halogen
Rhythm game specialist.
Retired StaffFFR Simfile AuthorFFR Music ProducerD8 Godly KeysmasherFFR Veteran
 
TC_Halogen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bel Air, Maryland
Age: 32
Posts: 19,376
Send a message via AIM to TC_Halogen Send a message via Skype™ to TC_Halogen
Default Re: compiling stepmania from source

This could help you: http://www.stepmania.com/forums/show...5-%28beta-2%29

as I've fought this battle before.
TC_Halogen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 05:40 PM   #3
arcnmx
nanodesu~
Retired StaffFFR Veteran
 
arcnmx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 503
Send a message via Skype™ to arcnmx
Default Re: compiling stepmania from source

It's always built fine for me, but my distro has a package for it. All it does is ./configure && make, but it downloads a source package from sourceforge as opposed to using a checked out trunk.
__________________


FMO AAAs (1): Within Life :: FGO AAAs (1): Einstein-Rosen Bridge
arcnmx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 06:17 PM   #4
choof
Banned
Retired StaffFFR Simfile AuthorD7 Elite KeysmasherFFR Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8,563
Default Re: compiling stepmania from source

running make in stepmania folder looks like it's working

edit: okay it did something but I still have no idea what to look for to actually start stepmania lol

edit2: found stepmania program file, running from terminal gives
libavutil.so.52: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

Last edited by choof; 02-27-2014 at 06:33 PM..
choof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 06:22 PM   #5
choof
Banned
Retired StaffFFR Simfile AuthorD7 Elite KeysmasherFFR Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8,563
Default Re: compiling stepmania from source

yeah, none of the solutions on google are helping me

ffmpeg gives me this:
ffmpeg version 2.1.git Copyright (c) 2000-2014 the FFmpeg developers
built on Feb 27 2014 14:25:37 with gcc 4.8 (Ubuntu/Linaro 4.8.1-10ubuntu9)
configuration: --prefix=/home/zelos/ffmpeg_build --extra-cflags=-I/home/zelos/ffmpeg_build/include --extra-ldflags=-L/home/zelos/ffmpeg_build/lib --bindir=/home/zelos/bin --extra-libs=-ldl --enable-gpl --enable-libass --enable-libfdk-aac --enable-libmp3lame --enable-libopus --enable-libtheora --enable-libvorbis --enable-libvpx --enable-libx264 --enable-nonfree --enable-x11grab
libavutil 52. 66.100 / 52. 66.100
libavcodec 55. 52.102 / 55. 52.102
libavformat 55. 33.100 / 55. 33.100
libavdevice 55. 10.100 / 55. 10.100
libavfilter 4. 2.100 / 4. 2.100
libswscale 2. 5.101 / 2. 5.101
libswresample 0. 18.100 / 0. 18.100
libpostproc 52. 3.100 / 52. 3.100
Hyper fast Audio and Video encoder
usage: ffmpeg [options] [[infile options] -i infile]... {[outfile options] outfile}...


is it maybe looking for ffmpeg in one place, but it's actually in another?
choof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 06:37 PM   #6
choof
Banned
Retired StaffFFR Simfile AuthorD7 Elite KeysmasherFFR Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8,563
Default Re: compiling stepmania from source

fuck it, ran sudo apt-get remove ffmpeg and deleted the stepmania directory
trying again
choof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 06:52 PM   #7
choof
Banned
Retired StaffFFR Simfile AuthorD7 Elite KeysmasherFFR Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8,563
Default Re: compiling stepmania from source

fuck this I'm just gonna boot up a vm lmao
choof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 07:20 PM   #8
___________
Banned
FFR Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 585
Default Re: compiling stepmania from source

wait, why not just download wine? that's what i did when attempting to install sm on linux...
( unless i'm missing something here)
___________ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 07:56 PM   #9
arcnmx
nanodesu~
Retired StaffFFR Veteran
 
arcnmx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 503
Send a message via Skype™ to arcnmx
Default Re: compiling stepmania from source

Because uh you can run it natively >.>

Did you ./configure --prefix=somepath && make && make install, then run it from there? Dunno if that will quite solve it without LD_PRELOAD_PATH though, the issue is that the repo seems to be using its own built ffmpeg library instead of your system's (which is stupid). And for some reason it's not linking them statically, also stupid.

You could try compiling from these tarballs instead: http://sourceforge.net/projects/step...les/stepmania/
__________________


FMO AAAs (1): Within Life :: FGO AAAs (1): Einstein-Rosen Bridge
arcnmx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 09:41 PM   #10
choof
Banned
Retired StaffFFR Simfile AuthorD7 Elite KeysmasherFFR Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8,563
Default Re: compiling stepmania from source

Quote:
Originally Posted by arcnmx View Post
--prefix=somepath
u wat
choof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 10:21 PM   #11
arcnmx
nanodesu~
Retired StaffFFR Veteran
 
arcnmx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 503
Send a message via Skype™ to arcnmx
Default Re: compiling stepmania from source

Prefix tells it where to install to when you run make install. For example, the Arch Linux Stepmania package uses ./configure --prefix=/opt; make; make install in order to install it to /opt/stepmania
__________________


FMO AAAs (1): Within Life :: FGO AAAs (1): Einstein-Rosen Bridge
arcnmx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright FlashFlashRevolution