Old 04-30-2006, 07:00 PM   #1
jwcgator
RIP ffrtokens
FFR Veteran
 
jwcgator's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,220
Send a message via AIM to jwcgator
Smile Mapping Keys in FFR (WITH IMAGES) !!!!UPDATE 6/11/07!!!


use ffr built in keymapping.

but continue to read if you want to use a pad or R2/Resonance

NOTE: I have updated the actual code that you put into the ahk script, it allows you to suspend the script and unsuspend the script at a single keypress. Scroll down to see it


Tired of having to use <V86 as a pseudo-spread setup in FFR? Tired of having to get accustomed to 2 different setups between Stepmania and FFR? Well, you've come to the right thread. In this thread I'm going to be teaching you how to use a program called Autohotkey for your key mapping pleasures.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

A. Setting up Autohotkey
B. Setting up the Autohotkey script
C. Running the Autohotkey Script
D. Closing the Autohotkey script
E. Other Cool Stuff
F. Troubleshooting

A. Setting up Autohotkey

Step 1: Download Autohotkey
Step 2: Install the program by double clicking the AutoHotkeyInstall.exe that you downloaded. (It would be wise that you restart the computer after installation)

B. Setting up the Autohotkey script

Step 1: Right click on the desktop, go to New, then click on New Autohotkey Script.


Step 2: Right click the New Autohotkey Script.ahk on your desktop and click Edit Script.


NOTE: THOSE CODES WILL NOT WORK ON RESONANCE OR R2, ONLY ON R1.

Step 3. Add the following code to your script:
Code:
a::Send {left}
s::Send {down}
k::Send {up}
l::Send {right}

;Do not delete this, it allows you suspend and unsuspend the script at any ;time with 
;a simple press of the ` button (next to the number on on the number row ;above the letters on your keyboard

`::Suspend
Step 4: Edit the letters before the ::'s to your choosing. The arrow setup for FFR is (LEFT)(DOWN)(UP)(RIGHT) For example, I have my script set up as
Code:
;
; AutoHotkey Version: 1.x
; Language:       English
; Platform:       Win9x/NT
; Author:         A.N.Other <myemail@nowhere.com>
;
; Script Function:
;	Template script (you can customize this template by editing "ShellNew\Template.ahk" in your Windows folder)
;

m::Send {left}
,::Send {down}
.::Send {up}
/::Send {right}

;Do not delete this, it allows you suspend and unsuspend the script at any ;time with 
;a simple press of the ` button (next to the number on on the number row ;above the letters on your keyboard

`::Suspend
Step 5: SAVE IT.

C. Running the Autohotkey Script

Just Double click the New Autohotkey Script.ahk. Simple as that.

D. Closing the Autohotkey script

Right click on the green H in the task bar and click Exit.


E. Other Cool Stuff

SUSPEND HOTKEYS:
add this to your code if you havent already:

;Do not delete this, it allows you suspend and unsuspend the script at any ;time with
;a simple press of the ` button (next to the number on on the number row ;above the letters on your keyboard

`::Suspend

MAKING AN EXE:
This is very useful. Right click on the script and click Compile Script. This will make a portable EXE that you can put on other computers and use as FFR hotkeys without installing AutoHotKey Numerous times.


F. Troubleshooting

My script isn't running or I get an error message when I start up the script!
-Make sure that the syntax is correct. Look at the example above and make sure it looks like that.

It won't exit!
-Yes it will. If for some odd reason it wont exit when you click exit(and make sure you're doing it right!) then just delete the script on the desktop.


Well that's about it. The reason I omitted using a pad is because no one wants to use a pad on FFR anyways lol. If you really want to, Figure it out yourself. If you want to use this somewhere else please ask permission because I worked hard on this.

If anyone sees anything wrong please tell me and I will fix it ASAP


*EDIT - An AHK code that works on R2/Resonance (thanks to the DtTvB)

Code:
#SingleInstance Force
JustEval(name, state) {
  Global
  If (jl%name% != "" && jl%name% != state) {
    jl%name% := state
    Return "Changed"
  }
  jl%name% := state
  Return "I"
}
Checkstate(name, state, key) {
  If (JustEval(name, state) != "I") {
    If (state) {
      Send {%key% Down}
    } Else {
      Send {%key% Up}
    }
  }
  jl%name% := state
}
JoyGet(b) {
  Global Joynumber
  Return GetKeyState("Joy" . b)
}
KGet(b) {
  Global Joynumber
  Return GetKeyState(b)
}
Loop {
  Checkstate("l", KGet("d"), "left")
  Checkstate("d", KGet("f"), "down")
  Checkstate("u", KGet("j"), "up")
  Checkstate("r", KGet("k"), "right")
}
`::Suspend
This code uses loop to check if a key is pressed and released.
This way it can work with freezes.


MRichards' Simple Alternative for Key Remapping
http://www.flashflashrevolution.com/...ad.php?t=77100

I've uploaded a very simple program to remap the cursor keys for FFR. I know this duplicates the work of jwcgator (AutoHotKey), but this is much simpler to set up, and has a minimum of timing delay:

http://www.latent.demon.co.uk/ffr_keymap.html

Screenshot:
http://www.latent.demon.co.uk/images...screenshot.jpg

The program defaults to remapping FFR R1, and can remap the cursors for other windows or programs too. It also supports dancepads, joypads, guitar controllers etc. Unfortunately, R2 and Resonance use low level keyboard access and it doesn't work with them.

Minimum Specification

Works in Windows XP and Windows Vista (may need to use "Run as Administrator" in Vista).
I'm afraid I'm not a Mac or Linux programmer, sorry guys...

NOTE:
To get the absolute minimum of timing delay, the program injects a message hook directly into the target window. This is flagged up as a potential attack by many firewalls and spyware programs - because accessing another window's messages could indicate unauthorised activity. In fact, the program is harmless and simply needs access to the keyboard messages to do its job. However, to be open, I've put the entire project and source code on the above site, so it can be checked and compiled by those who know how.
__________________

Last edited by jwcgator; 05-24-2008 at 09:53 PM.. Reason: Update
jwcgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-1-2006, 06:14 AM   #2
petpro32
FFR Player
 
petpro32's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Washington
Posts: 160
Thumbs up Re: How to map different keys in FFR and Use a Dancepad

i just wanted to say thanks for posting this. It has really helped my game on some of the more difficult songs. Again, thanks.
petpro32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-2-2006, 02:05 AM   #3
TheRapingDragon
A car crash mind
FFR Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 9,787
Default Re: How to map different keys in FFR and Use a Dancepad

When I click on your link I get a "This webpage cannot be found" page. Can you fix the link and I'll try it.

EDIT: Got it working

Last edited by TheRapingDragon; 05-2-2006 at 02:17 AM..
TheRapingDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-2-2006, 02:18 AM   #4
talisman
Resident Penguin
FFR Simfile AuthorFFR Veteran
 
talisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Age: 34
Posts: 4,598
Send a message via AIM to talisman
Default Re: How to map different keys in FFR and Use a Dancepad

so... how do you turn this off again?

without ctrl alt deleting of course
talisman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-2-2006, 02:21 AM   #5
TheRapingDragon
A car crash mind
FFR Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 9,787
Default Re: How to map different keys in FFR and Use a Dancepad

Quote:
Originally Posted by talisman
so... how do you turn this off again?

without ctrl alt deleting of course
haha was just about to ask the same question until I released if you just delete the script you made on the desktop and wait about 10-20 seconds it'll stop.
TheRapingDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-2-2006, 02:23 AM   #6
talisman
Resident Penguin
FFR Simfile AuthorFFR Veteran
 
talisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Age: 34
Posts: 4,598
Send a message via AIM to talisman
Default Re: How to map different keys in FFR and Use a Dancepad

pretty nice though. fun to play ffr on spread. (which was not possible before on laptops).

edit: well on second thought this might be good and bad as it opens possibilities for double setups and whatnot. hmmm.

Last edited by talisman; 05-2-2006 at 02:32 AM..
talisman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-2-2006, 07:20 AM   #7
jwcgator
RIP ffrtokens
FFR Veteran
 
jwcgator's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,220
Send a message via AIM to jwcgator
Default Re: How to map different keys in FFR and Use a Dancepad

Quote:
Originally Posted by talisman
pretty nice though. fun to play ffr on spread. (which was not possible before on laptops).

edit: well on second thought this might be good and bad as it opens possibilities for double setups and whatnot. hmmm.
I see what you're saying. but if people were that desperate they could just use numpad+arrows.

Oh sorry, and to exit this go to the taskbar, and right click on the H in the little tray. There should be "Exit AutoHotKey" or something to that effect. You dont have to delete the script
__________________
jwcgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-6-2006, 07:54 AM   #8
Fimbulvetr
FFR Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 209
Default Re: How to map different keys in FFR and Use a Dancepad

I can't seem to get the link to work

nvm, i just googled it.

Last edited by Fimbulvetr; 05-6-2006 at 08:20 AM..
Fimbulvetr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-6-2006, 12:29 PM   #9
AasumDude
FFR Player
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 726
Default Re: How to map different keys in FFR and Use a Dancepad

This is a pretty nifty thing... someone should put this into a vid sometime.
__________________
AasumDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-6-2006, 10:01 PM   #10
dead_juggalo
FFR Player
 
dead_juggalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Owensboro, Kentucky
Age: 30
Posts: 633
Send a message via AIM to dead_juggalo
Default Re: How to map different keys in FFR and Use a Dancepad

Does that make it where you can play spread.
I play index on here.
But on SM I play a mixture of Index and Spread.
I'm not that good though.
The best AA I've gotten on SM is Black Dragon Oni.
dead_juggalo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-9-2006, 04:16 AM   #11
petpro32
FFR Player
 
petpro32's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Washington
Posts: 160
Default Re: How to map different keys in FFR and Use a Dancepad

Go back to the Brag Boards, Juggalo. This isn't the place.
And yes, you can play spread, or index, or whatever.
__________________


petpro32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-9-2006, 07:44 PM   #12
TK_Killer
FFR Player
 
TK_Killer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Jupiter, Florida
Posts: 251
Send a message via AIM to TK_Killer Send a message via MSN to TK_Killer
Default Re: How to map different keys in FFR and Use a Dancepad

WOAHH..thats cool..i didnt know you could do that
__________________
TK_Killer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2006, 07:46 PM   #13
Novacaine
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 282
Default Re: How to map different keys in FFR and Use a Dancepad

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwcgator
Start up FFR and try it out, however i reccomend you stay on the easy songs with a pad, i dont even think the best DDRer in the world could beat gradeus.
You'd be suprised. I've heard of someone doing eggmans one more lovely on standard on foot.
Novacaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2006, 07:52 PM   #14
jwcgator
RIP ffrtokens
FFR Veteran
 
jwcgator's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,220
Send a message via AIM to jwcgator
Default Re: How to map different keys in FFR and Use a Dancepad

Quote:
Originally Posted by Novacaine
You'd be suprised. I've heard of someone doing eggmans one more lovely on standard on foot.

o. k.
__________________

Last edited by jwcgator; 12-24-2006 at 02:44 PM..
jwcgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2006, 04:14 PM   #15
Novacaine
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 282
Default Re: How to map different keys in FFR and Use a Dancepad

http://video.google.com/videoplay?do...ne+More+Lovely

ok apparantly he didnt actually beat it, but he got a decent way through.

what i'm saying is if he can do that at 200 bpm 16ths, why not gradeus thats only 180bpm 16ths.
Novacaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-2-2006, 07:51 PM   #16
jwcgator
RIP ffrtokens
FFR Veteran
 
jwcgator's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,220
Send a message via AIM to jwcgator
Default Re: How to map different keys in FFR and Use a Dancepad

Quote:
Originally Posted by Novacaine
http://video.google.com/videoplay?do...ne+More+Lovely

ok apparantly he didnt actually beat it, but he got a decent way through.

what i'm saying is if he can do that at 200 bpm 16ths, why not gradeus thats only 180bpm 16ths.
asdfasdfasdf wtf omg thats awesome

and BUMP because this thread's awesome
__________________
jwcgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-5-2006, 01:05 PM   #17
hellspare
FFR Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Default Re: How to map different keys in FFR and Use a Dancepad

Oh god i love you
hellspare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-5-2006, 03:55 PM   #18
Afrobean
Admiral in the Red Army
FFR Veteran
 
Afrobean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: the moon
Age: 33
Posts: 13,262
Send a message via Skype™ to Afrobean
Default Re: How to map different keys in FFR and Use a Dancepad

This thread is an excellent resource.

Why is it not stickied?
__________________
Afrobean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-5-2006, 07:44 PM   #19
jwcgator
RIP ffrtokens
FFR Veteran
 
jwcgator's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,220
Send a message via AIM to jwcgator
Default Re: How to map different keys in FFR and Use a Dancepad

Quote:
Originally Posted by Afrobean
Why is it not stickied?
I dunno
__________________
jwcgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-6-2006, 05:03 AM   #20
Chromer
Hookers and Blow
FFR Veteran
 
Chromer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: You heard the robot. No fun.
Age: 32
Posts: 4,981
Send a message via AIM to Chromer Send a message via Yahoo to Chromer
Default Re: How to map different keys in FFR and Use a Dancepad

Yay now I can finally try spread!
__________________
Chromer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright FlashFlashRevolution