Go Back   Flash Flash Revolution > Flash Flash Revolution > FFR General Talk
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12-13-2021, 10:09 PM   #1
jacobvl39
Difficulty Consultant
Difficulty ConsultantFFR Simfile AuthorFFR Veteran

Default Improving reading ability

I've been playing way more FFR than is healthy and I'm excited to be making progress, but it seems my physical skills have gotten far ahead of my reading ability. In a given difficulty range, there are some charts I can read and do okay on and others I can't make heads or tails of and have to mash randomly (Makiba, for example). Since there's so little correlation between my score on a chart and its rating, I think I have a skill imbalance.

Is it normal for reading to develop more slowly, or are there two "types" of players, those with an inherent ability to read dense charts and those who are more physically/technically focused? If anyone was in my position, how long did it take you to learn to read dense charts and what was most helpful?
jacobvl39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2021, 06:24 PM   #2
CrashTheBoard
FFR Player
D7 Elite Keysmasher

Default Re: Improving reading ability

You might want to try out practicing some on other VSRGs. FFR does not have very dense charts in general compared to some other games.

Ive had times where I felt like my physical ability is limited by my reading and other times where I dont feel like Im fast enough to keep up with what I can read; so Id say it probably shifts around for some people.
CrashTheBoard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2021, 07:30 PM   #3
alloyus
¯\_(ツ)_/¯
FFR Simfile AuthorD8 Godly KeysmasherFFR Veteran