Old 07-21-2013, 02:27 PM   #1
redsea
seek ye first the kingdom
FFR Veteran

Default Switching to spread

Hey guys,
I have been playing Stepmania/FFR for over 6 years now, and have been using the same awkward style the entire time. I believe that I might have gotten as good as I can with it, as I am capable of AAAing FMO's, SDGing 75's, etc. I have pretty much reached all of the goals that I have set, and have gotten a lot of respectable scores in both games. All this being said, I want to get to that next level. I want to be able to FC gurus without much effort, and maybe even AAA some. With the style I use now I feel like it is near impossible.

I made this thread because I want advice, tips, anything you can give me that will make switching easier for me. I am scared that I will lose a lot of skill that I will never get back if I cannot do it right. I want to be able to get familiar with the spread setup as quick as possible, but I don't want to spend my whole life doing it. I have a girlfriend, a job, and I really don't have all that much time to play.

I hope that some of you guys can help me! Any comments are welcome.
redsea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 02:44 PM   #2
dAnceguy117
new hand moves = dab
FFR Simfile AuthorFFR Veteran

Default Re: Switching to spread

Quote:
Originally Posted by redsea View Post
I have been playing Stepmania/FFR for over 6 years now, and have been using the same awkward style the entire time. I believe that I might have gotten as good as I can with it
That's exactly the same position I found myself in at this time four years ago! I made the switch to spread as well. Even if you have a tough time switching to spread, I don't think you will lose any skill overall. I can still play index just as well as I could back then.

Picking up spread was a gradual adjustment for me. I'm actually still learning, but even so, my scores on difficult files far surpass what I could ever get with my old playing style.