Go Back   Flash Flash Revolution > General Discussion > Technology
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-15-2016, 02:50 PM   #1
xXOpkillerXx
Forever OP
Simfile JudgeFFR Simfile AuthorD8 Godly KeysmasherFFR Veteran

Default Reflection.Emit

Give me your thoughts on it please. I'm currently studying it on my own for a project of mine and just wanted to hear more about what people think of it.

OpCodes is giving me some trouble since there is so many damn options and I'm not so good at memory management and such low-level skills.

Also, I've heard Expression.Compile is great too but not as versatile and it's limited by lambda usage. Yes/no ? In what context to pick one or the other ?

Thanks
xXOpkillerXx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2016, 05:39 PM   #2
kommisar
Dark Chancellor
Retired StaffFFR Simfile AuthorFFR Music Producer

Send a message via AIM to kommisar Send a message via MSN to kommisar
Default Re: Reflection.Emit

are there more versatile or useful classes you can use for the same function or is this as good as it gets

Last edited by kommisar; 10-15-2016 at 05:41 PM..
kommisar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2016, 06:04 PM   #3
Dinglesberry
longing
FFR Veteran

Wow I was writing a post and my ipad deleted it before I submitted :(

I'm not too familiar with it in c#, but reflection is pretty useful in other languages.. Basically, it allows for you to dynamically create functions, objects etc, and create them or change them during execution, and the program will be able to interact with them as though they were native parts of the code. It also allows you to expose certain elements to external code. A pretty solid practical example of this is runescape bots - imagine rewriting the method that displays the game itself to also output data on objects that are appearing in the world, such as their coordinates.