Old 09-3-2016, 10:52 PM   #441
CocoaPuff3100
FFR Player
 
CocoaPuff3100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 42
Default Re: FFR Standalone!

Just wanted to post that I got this working in linux (ubuntu 14.04) with wine. Despite the standalone links for linux in the OP and on Adobe's website, I didn't have any luck with getting it to run natively, but wine is surprisingly smooth.

You can always first try downloading flash 11 for linux (just extract it and run the file, presumably), but it didn't work for me and I looked it up and others have encountered problems as well, so if that doesn't work, try this out.

Running FFR Standalone on Linux using Wine

Step 1: Download the Windows flash player version of your choice.

a) Flash 8
b) Flash 9
c) Flash 10
d) Flash 11
e) Flash 12
f) Flash 13
g) Flash 14
h) Flash 15
i) Flash 16

I got flash 9 because it's said to have the least problems, but you need 10 or above for rates. I'm fairly sure that any version will work, but some may run better or worse for you.

Depending on which one you get, you'll download either a .zip or an .exe. If it's a .zip, extract it and browse to the folder with flashplayer_x_sa.exe.

Step 2: Install and configure Wine

To check if you already have wine, right click your flash exe and see if there's an option to open it with Wine Windows Program Loader. If there is, skip to step 3. If not, we'll install it now.

You can choose to install wine through the terminal or the software centre, but you'll have to use the terminal to configure wine, so I would recommend installing through there as well, seems a bit easier.

Installing Wine through the terminal:

1. Open a terminal (ctrl+alt+T).
2. Run the following commands:
Code:
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:wine/wine-builds
3.
Code:
sudo apt-get update
4.
Code:
sudo apt-get install wine
5.
Code:
winecfg
6. A window will appear with wine configuration options, but you don't need to change anything here, so you can exit that and the terminal.

OR

Installing Wine through Ubuntu Software Centre:

1. Search for wine in the software centre.
2. Install Wine Windows Program Loader.
3. Open a terminal (ctrl+alt+T).
4. Run
Code:
winecfg
5. Again, no need to change anything in this window, so close both at this point.

Step 3: Running Flash

Go back to your flash exe and right click it. You should now see an option to open it with Wine Windows Program Loader. If it's not there, look under the "open with" menu. Once you open it, the flashplayer window should appear.

Step 4: Loading FFR

The R^3 engine link is here: http://www.flashflashrevolution.com/~velocity/R%5E3.swf

The rest can be found in the OP.

Copy the link to the FFR engine you want. If you are using R^3, you must first set up the main FFR R^3 swf linked above. Additional engines will be added through R^3. However, if you're using legacy or velocity, you can use the swfs to alternate engines linked in the OP, but you will most likely still want to put the main FFR swf in first.

In the flashplayer window, go to File > Open and put in the URL. FFR should run now.

Step 4.5 (optional): Adding other engines in R^3

Go to Options, Other Options, and click the engine playlist dropdown. From there you can add the xml links to other R^3 engines.

Step 5: Making an executable

In the flash menu bar, go to File > Create projector. Name and save the file somewhere easily accessible like the desktop. This is what you'll click to run FFR.

The first time you run the executable, you may need to right click, open with, and choose Wine. That will set it as the default program, and then you're done!

If you have any questions or run into problems, please let me know.

I'm running ubuntu 14.04 and wine 1.6.2 (old version lol). The instructions I gave should install a newer version of wine, but that shouldn't matter. My laptop is pretty mediocre, but it runs 60fps with no lag. Wine isn't as resource-intensive as it sounds so don't be afraid to try it out.
CocoaPuff3100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2017, 11:48 PM   #442
2EdgedVictory
FFR Veteran
FFR Veteran
 
2EdgedVictory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 172
Default Re: FFR Standalone!

Can anyone find a link for the flash 18 standalone? I have not found one. It looks like standalone flash was discontinued after this one and this one is the newest standalone version.
2EdgedVictory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2017, 02:03 AM   #443
Soundwave-
Carry your failures proud
FFR Veteran
 
Soundwave-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Age: 23
Posts: 644
Default Re: FFR Standalone!

Current standalone flashplayer ("projector"): http://www.adobe.com/support/flashpl...downloads.html

Archived flashplayers: https://helpx.adobe.com/flash-player...-versions.html
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by [11:38 PM] Hakulyte
only person who can legit tilt me is like YoshL
Quote:
Originally Posted by スンファンさん
右に3回回らない限り間違います。

Last edited by Soundwave-; 05-27-2017 at 02:03 AM..
Soundwave- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2017, 05:00 AM   #444
avadram
Custom User Title
FFR Veteran
 
avadram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 103
Default Re: FFR Standalone!

Does flash player 8 standalone even exist? Just curious how FFR would work on that
The one on the adobe site is not standalone
__________________

avadram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2017, 03:35 PM   #445
Soundwave-
Carry your failures proud
FFR Veteran
 
Soundwave-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Age: 23
Posts: 644
Default Re: FFR Standalone!

The archive contains the standalone player if a standalone player exists for that version.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by [11:38 PM] Hakulyte
only person who can legit tilt me is like YoshL
Quote:
Originally Posted by スンファンさん
右に3回回らない限り間違います。
Soundwave- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2017, 12:57 AM   #446
avadram
Custom User Title
FFR Veteran
 
avadram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 103
Default Re: FFR Standalone!

Well 9 and above has a standalone player
8 doesn't
__________________

avadram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2017, 12:59 AM   #447
Soundwave-
Carry your failures proud
FFR Veteran
 
Soundwave-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Age: 23
Posts: 644
Default Re: FFR Standalone!

Then I can only conclude that version 8 never had a standalone player.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by [11:38 PM] Hakulyte
only person who can legit tilt me is like YoshL
Quote:
Originally Posted by スンファンさん
右に3回回らない限り間違います。
Soundwave- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2017, 01:13 AM   #448
gabrieljd
FFR Veteran
FFR Veteran
 
gabrieljd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New York, NY
Age: 28
Posts: 259
Default Re: FFR Standalone!

It does exist, I have it. Don't remember where I got it from though.
gabrieljd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2017, 01:45 AM   #450
Soundwave-
Carry your failures proud
FFR Veteran
 
Soundwave-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Age: 23
Posts: 644
Default Re: FFR Standalone!

It may be possible to find/hack together a flash 8 compliant standalone player, but an official one likely does not exist.

EDIT: The original Macromedia standalone player was never distributed individually. You can try installing Flash 8 and seeing if it's still packaged, otherwise best of luck finding it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by [11:38 PM] Hakulyte
only person who can legit tilt me is like YoshL
Quote:
Originally Posted by スンファンさん
右に3回回らない限り間違います。

Last edited by Soundwave-; 05-28-2017 at 01:56 AM..
Soundwave- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2018, 07:46 AM   #451
FirstMaple8
D7 Elite Keymasher
D7 Elite KeysmasherFFR Veteran
 
FirstMaple8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: 2008
Posts: 564
Send a message via ICQ to FirstMaple8 Send a message via AIM to FirstMaple8 Send a message via Yahoo to FirstMaple8 Send a message via Skype™ to FirstMaple8
Default Re: FFR Standalone!

Is standalone useless now that chrome dl's swfs and we have r3air?
FirstMaple8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2018, 11:25 AM   #452
Soundwave-
Carry your failures proud
FFR Veteran
 
Soundwave-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Age: 23
Posts: 644
Default Re: FFR Standalone!

In theory. In practice AIR has instabilities that make it unplayable in some configurations currently.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by [11:38 PM] Hakulyte
only person who can legit tilt me is like YoshL
Quote:
Originally Posted by スンファンさん
右に3回回らない限り間違います。
Soundwave- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2018, 03:10 PM   #453
Hakulyte
the Haku
Retired StaffD7 Elite KeysmasherFFR Veteran
 
Hakulyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Age: 35
Posts: 4,517
Default Re: FFR Standalone!

Quote:
Originally Posted by avadram View Post
Does flash player 8 standalone even exist? Just curious how FFR would work on that
The one on the adobe site is not standalone
It does.

Legacy/Velocity Engine runs fine on it.
It cannot load R^3. (you just get a black screen)
Hakulyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2018, 02:09 AM   #454
SK8R43
D7 Elite Keymasher
D7 Elite KeysmasherFFR Veteran
 
SK8R43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: In My Room, 10101
Age: 33
Posts: 4,676
Default Re: FFR Standalone!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soundwave- View Post
In theory. In practice AIR has instabilities that make it unplayable in some configurations currently.
Yep. AIR is unplayable for me. its so unsmooth that i need a bunch of restarts just to get a semi smooth but still laggy run. enough to combo most songs but cant PA for shit with it. haha
__________________
Thee Burstinator
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
SK8R43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-2-2018, 06:27 AM   #455
manganok
FFR Player
 
manganok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: FFR Standalone!

Hey everyone, I'm a casual player for ten years (don't play oftenly but love to hit some arrows from time to time), and I write my first board post to say thank you to the standalone version of FFR, I sometimes had loss in fps in the web based game, now NEVER. So thanks a lot.


edit: my avatar is a ten years old photo of me, so I'll never change it!

Last edited by manganok; 03-2-2018 at 06:27 AM..
manganok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-2-2018, 10:50 AM   #456
SK8R43
D7 Elite Keymasher
D7 Elite KeysmasherFFR Veteran
 
SK8R43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: In My Room, 10101
Age: 33
Posts: 4,676
Default Re: FFR Standalone!

Yeahh...I dont know why the web based game is even there. You can literally have the best computer ever and it will still lag like crazy. IMO it just pushes new players away.
__________________
Thee Burstinator
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
SK8R43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-2-2018, 11:02 AM   #457
rushyrulz
Digital Dancing!
Retired StaffFFR Simfile AuthorFFR Music ProducerD7 Elite KeysmasherFFR Veteran
 
rushyrulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: 80 billion club, NE
Age: 31
Posts: 12,979
Default Re: FFR Standalone!

Probably because Air still has a lot of kinks to work out and using standalone flash-player is kind of a counterintuitive approach for people who just wanna smash some arrows casually
__________________



Last edited by rushyrulz; 03-2-2018 at 11:02 AM..
rushyrulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2018, 07:33 PM   #458
cubs101
Villain
FFR Veteran
 
cubs101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: FFR Standalone!

The standalone was pretty necessary since most people are sketch about Flash, and it runs like garbage, especially on laptops, where I'm assuming most people play FFR (mine included). AIR, although possibly buggy, provides the smoothest experience I've ever had with FFR. It pretty much makes the Flash version obsolete.
cubs101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 11:56 AM   #459
_hazy
FFR Player
 
_hazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: a place
Age: 61
Posts: 2
Default Re: FFR Standalone!

is there way to get the standealone on a crhomebook
__________________
Well... i guess i am just sad forever
_hazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 12:22 PM   #460
Seoulslayer
FFR Veteran
FFR Veteran
 
Seoulslayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Iowa
Age: 22
Posts: 106
Default Re: FFR Standalone!

Quote:
Originally Posted by _hazy View Post
is there way to get the standealone on a crhomebook
I think that you would have to run a different operating system or something in order to download apps that Chromebooks don't allow. I'm pretty sure it is possible, but I don't really know the specifics.
Seoulslayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright FlashFlashRevolution