Flash Flash Revolution

Flash Flash Revolution (http://www.flashflashrevolution.com/vbz/index.php)
-   Technology (http://www.flashflashrevolution.com/vbz/forumdisplay.php?f=74)
-   -   First attempt at making a game (http://www.flashflashrevolution.com/vbz/showthread.php?t=126347)

Guest15937 10-2-2012 09:46 PM

First attempt at making a game

So I recently stuck together a simple game and uploaded it to Kongregate. It's nothing too fancy (in fact, it's really basic.) This is my first time making a game.

It can be found here:
http://www.kongregate.com/games/User...evasive-action

Sort of a cross between avoidance and bullet hell.

Kibblre 10-2-2012 09:50 PM

Re: First attempt at making a game

I think a lot of people go for this as their first games. I'm getting an issue with a "bullet" just chilling there in the top left not doing anything.

qqwref 10-2-2012 09:57 PM

There seems to be something off with the diagonals, like when I press up and right I go off at some weird angle instead of diagonally. I also find the controls kinda tricky to use precisely, so maybe you could play with that. Like maybe it would follow the mouse or something? It would also be good if the walls would either stop you completely or teleport you to the other side (this would be particularly good for the left/right ones), rather than killing you.

I haven't managed to play all that far but some bigger bullets and bullets that move in more bullet-hell-like patterns (spreads, single bullets that shoot bullets in all directions, shaped bullets, big bullets in interesting patterns) would be cool.

And to make mute and unmute the same button, just keep track of whether the game is muted or not (e.g. _root.muted), and have the button mute if it's false and unmute if it's true.

PS: why is there a lone bullet hanging out in the top-left corner? XD

Ohaider 10-2-2012 09:58 PM

Pretty nice :) simplistic and fun haha. Got like 9000 points.

Guest15937 10-2-2012 10:03 PM