Go Back   Flash Flash Revolution > Gaming > Stepmania
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-23-2013, 11:04 AM   #1
Fission
no
Simfile JudgeFFR Simfile AuthorFFR Veteran
 
Fission's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Age: 33
Posts: 1,850
Default General StepMania Q&A

there isn't a thread for this, and i thought it would be useful for there to be a thread dedicated to asking short questions related to stepmania instead of there being many disparate threads with the same objective of resolving simple questions.

try not to repeat questions that can be found in http://www.keybeat.net/forums/showthread.php?t=2377 to avoid clutter.

with that being said, i'll start.

in stepmania 5, how do i modify the song options menu to include whatever i want to have on it(rates, fail options, etc.)? i am using the ultralight theme and i used to know how to do it, but i don't recall and need a refresher.

secondly, how can i remove the shortcuts that add appearance modifiers in stepmania 5? it's really annoying to accidently trigger them and it happens frequently.

Last edited by Fission; 09-23-2013 at 11:53 AM..
Fission is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 11:09 AM   #2
Wafles
FFR Player
 
Wafles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,988
Send a message via Skype™ to Wafles
Default Re: General StepMania Q&A

Ultralight uses _fallback for a lot of the options, so you either have to modify _fallback or override it.

I wrote this for Skwid a while ago to show him how to add rates to the song options menu in Ultralight.

If you don't want to override _fallback you can fiddle around with the themes metrics. Just adding the following to [ScreenPlayerOptions] should also work. If you want to add fail options you'll have to find the name for it (I'm sure its in the _fallback metrics somewhere)

Code:
ALRIGHT SO HERES WHAT YOU DO

OPEN YOUR C:/Path/To/Stepmania5/Themes/_fallback/metrics.ini FILE

Replace the [ScreenPlayerOptions] section with the stuff below and you're done!


[ScreenPlayerOptions]
Fallback="ScreenOptions"
Class="ScreenPlayerOptions"
#
PrevScreen=Branch.BackOutOfPlayerOptions()
NextScreen=Branch.SongOptions()
#
PlayMusic=false
#
TimerSeconds=30
#
LineNames="1,19,2,3A,3B,4,5,6,R,7,8,9,10,11,12,13,14,16,17"
Line19="list,Rate"
Line1="lua,SpeedMods()"
# Line1="list,Speed"
Line2="list,Accel"
Line3A="list,EffectsReceptor"
Line3B="list,EffectsArrow"
#
Line4="list,Appearance"
Line5="list,Turn"
Line6="list,Insert"
LineR="list,Remove"
Line7="list,Scroll"
Line8="list,NoteSkins"
Line9="list,Holds"
Line10="list,Mines"
Line11="list,Attacks"
Line12="list,PlayerAutoPlay"
Line13="list,Hide"
Line14="list,Persp"
Line16="list,Steps"
Line17="list,Characters"
#
Wafles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 11:12 AM   #3
Fission
no
Simfile JudgeFFR Simfile AuthorFFR Veteran
 
Fission's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Age: 33
Posts: 1,850
Default Re: General StepMania Q&A

oh, it's in _fallback metrics. should have known. thanks.

do you happen to know anything about the second question i asked?
Fission is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 11:13 AM   #4
Wafles
FFR Player
 
Wafles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,988
Send a message via Skype™ to Wafles
Default Re: General StepMania Q&A

Not a clue, sorry
Wafles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 11:24 AM   #5
TwistedPhoenix
Forum User
 
TwistedPhoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Draper, UT
Age: 29
Posts: 393
Send a message via Skype™ to TwistedPhoenix
Default Re: General StepMania Q&A

In the base.ini file, look for this section. Haven't tested to see if removing the shortcuts gets rid of them, but it's something at least.

Code:
[CodeDetector]
PrevSteps1="Up,Up"
PrevSteps2="MenuUp,MenuUp"
NextSteps1="Down,Down"
NextSteps2="MenuDown,MenuDown"
NextSort1="@MenuLeft-@MenuRight-Start"
NextSort2="MenuLeft-MenuRight"
NextSort3="@Left-@Right-Start"
NextSort4="Left-Right"
ModeMenu1="Up,Down,Up,Down"
ModeMenu2="MenuUp,MenuDown,MenuUp,MenuDown"
Mirror="Up,Left,Right,Left,Right"
Left="Up,Down,Right,Left"
Right="Up,Down,Left,Right"
Shuffle="Down,Up,Down,Up"
SuperShuffle="Down,Up,Left,Right"
NextTransform=""
NextScrollSpeed="Up,Left,Down,Left,Up"
PreviousScrollSpeed="Down,Right,Up,Right,Down"
NextAccel="Left,Right,Down,Up"
NextEffect="Left,Down,Right"
NextAppearance="Left,Up,Right"
NextTurn=""
Reverse="Down,Left,Right,Left,Right"
HoldNotes="Right,Left,Down,Up"
Mines=""
Dark=""
CancelAll="Left,Right,Left,Right,Left,Right,Left,Right"
NextTheme="Left,Left,Left,Right,Right,Right,Left,Right"
NextTheme2="MenuLeft,MenuLeft,MenuLeft,MenuRight,MenuRight,MenuRight,MenuLeft,MenuRight"
NextAnnouncer="Left,Left,Right,Right,Left,Left,Right,Right"
NextAnnouncer2="MenuLeft,MenuLeft,MenuRight,MenuRight,MenuLeft,MenuLeft,MenuRight,MenuRight"
NextBannerGroup="MenuUp,MenuRight,MenuRight"
NextBannerGroup2="MenuUp,MenuDown,MenuUp,MenuDown"
Hidden=""
RandomVanish=""
SaveScreenshot1="MenuLeft-MenuRight"
SaveScreenshot2=""
CancelAllPlayerOptions=""
BackInEventMode=""
TwistedPhoenix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 11:29 AM   #6
Fission
no
Simfile JudgeFFR Simfile AuthorFFR Veteran
 
Fission's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Age: 33
Posts: 1,850
Default Re: General StepMania Q&A

i don't see why removing those wouldn't work. i'll try it and report back, thanks.
Fission is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 11:39 AM   #7
icontrolyourworld
Enjoy life!
FFR Simfile AuthorFFR Veteran
 
icontrolyourworld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Age: 31
Posts: 4,182
Default Re: General StepMania Q&A

this should be pretty helpful for a lot of stuff
http://www.keybeat.net/forums/showthread.php?t=2377
icontrolyourworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 11:46 AM   #8
xNiX
FFR Player
 
xNiX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,063
Send a message via Skype™ to xNiX
Default Re: General StepMania Q&A

How do you make the combo appear to the right? And can you do that with the accuracy as well?
__________________
xNiX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 11:49 AM   #9
Fission
no
Simfile JudgeFFR Simfile AuthorFFR Veteran
 
Fission's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Age: 33
Posts: 1,850
Default Re: General StepMania Q&A

Quote:
Originally Posted by icontrolyourworld View Post
this should be pretty helpful for a lot of stuff
http://www.keybeat.net/forums/showthread.php?t=2377
will add this to the op, thanks for informing me of it
Fission is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 11:56 AM   #10
AlexDest
good hot
Retired StaffFFR Simfile AuthorD7 Elite KeysmasherFFR Veteran
 
AlexDest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: North Carolina
Age: 29
Posts: 5,309
Default Re: General StepMania Q&A

Quote:
Originally Posted by xNiX View Post
How do you make the combo appear to the right? And can you do that with the accuracy as well?
Depends on the theme and version of Stepmania you're using.
__________________
AlexDest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 12:04 PM   #11
xNiX
FFR Player
 
xNiX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,063
Send a message via Skype™ to xNiX
Default Re: General StepMania Q&A

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexDest View Post
Depends on the theme and version of Stepmania you're using.
how about for 3.95 cvs
__________________
xNiX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 12:44 PM   #12
mi40
FFR Simfile AuthorD7 Elite KeysmasherFFR Veteran
 
mi40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3,652
Default Re: General StepMania Q&A

whoa people are good at stepmania science ;o
__________________
mi40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 10:09 PM   #13
Wafles
FFR Player
 
Wafles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,988
Send a message via Skype™ to Wafles
Default Re: General StepMania Q&A

Quote:
Originally Posted by xNiX View Post
how about for 3.95 cvs
Gotta modify your theme to change the position of the combo. Should be in the metrics.ini
Wafles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 10:31 PM   #14
DefTeaMachine
beatboxing ninja hobo
FFR Simfile AuthorFFR Music Producer
 
DefTeaMachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Age: 27
Posts: 382
Default Re: General StepMania Q&A

You know that thing when your combo counter changes color depending on if you are AAAing, Fcing, and whatnot. I need to make that thing stay at white because it really fucks with me.


sm5
__________________
The most judgement free sequel of a sequel to ever be released in the future of the past's future:

SEND YOUR REJECTED FILES HERE


Play my (discontinued) game
DefTeaMachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 11:47 PM   #15
Wafles
FFR Player
 
Wafles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,988
Send a message via Skype™ to Wafles
Default Re: General StepMania Q&A

Themes/_fallback/metrics.ini

Under [Player] you should find a line that says
Code:
PercentUntilColorCombo=0.25
Change that to 1.0, or copy that line and put it under the same section in whichever theme you're using.
Wafles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 06:39 AM   #16
DefTeaMachine
beatboxing ninja hobo
FFR Simfile AuthorFFR Music Producer
 
DefTeaMachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Age: 27
Posts: 382
Default Re: General StepMania Q&A

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wafles View Post
Themes/_fallback/metrics.ini

Under [Player] you should find a line that says
Code:
PercentUntilColorCombo=0.25
Change that to 1.0, or copy that line and put it under the same section in whichever theme you're using.
ty
__________________
The most judgement free sequel of a sequel to ever be released in the future of the past's future:

SEND YOUR REJECTED FILES HERE


Play my (discontinued) game
DefTeaMachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 10:54 AM   #17
Wafles
FFR Player
 
Wafles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,988
Send a message via Skype™ to Wafles
Default Re: General StepMania Q&A

np

Question for the masses:

How could I add another scoring display to the ScreenEvaluation? I want to have it display both the EX Oni % (SM5 default), and the Max %. I don't care if it looks good I Just want to have it on there.
Wafles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 11:18 AM   #18
Staiain
Can't handle my ÆØÅ
Retired StaffD7 Elite KeysmasherFFR Veteran
 
Staiain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 4,544
Send a message via AIM to Staiain Send a message via MSN to Staiain Send a message via Skype™ to Staiain
Default Re: General StepMania Q&A

You'd have to do either of them in .lua script, ask jousway if he's willing to help, I do have a formula but it won' work properly


Quote:
local Player = ...
assert( Player );
vart = Def.ActorFrame{
LoadFont("", "_big blue glow") ..{
Text="";
InitCommand=cmd(shadowlength,0;zoom,0.22;glowshift;effectperiod,2.2;horizalign,left;playcommand,"Set");
SetCommand=function(self)
local MA = STATSMAN:GetCurStageStats():GetPlayerStageStats(Player):GetTapNoteScores('TapNoteScore_W1');
local PA = STATSMAN:GetCurStageStats():GetPlayerStageStats(Player):GetTapNoteScores('TapNoteScore_W2');
local GREAT = STATSMAN:GetCurStageStats():GetPlayerStageStats(Player):GetTapNoteScores('TapNoteScore_W3');
local GOOD = STATSMAN:GetCurStageStats():GetPlayerStageStats(Player):GetTapNoteScores('TapNoteScore_W4');
local BOO = STATSMAN:GetCurStageStats():GetPlayerStageStats(Player):GetTapNoteScores('TapNoteScore_W5');
local MISS = STATSMAN:GetCurStageStats():GetPlayerStageStats(Player):GetTapNoteScores('TapNoteScore_Miss');
local HOLD = STATSMAN:GetCurStageStats():GetPlayerStageStats(Player):GetHoldNoteScores('HoldNoteScore_Held');
local sel = GAMESTATE:GetCurrentSteps(Player);
local tot = sel:GetRadarValues( Player );
--DISABLED local totalsteps = tot:GetValue('RadarCategory_TapsAndHolds') * 7;
--DISABLED local totalholds = tot:GetValue('RadarCategory_Holds') * 5;
local totalsteps = tot:GetValue('RadarCategory_TapsAndHolds') * 2;
local totalholds = tot:GetValue('RadarCategory_Holds') * 6;
local sottraihold = tot:GetValue('RadarCategory_Holds') - HOLD;
local totalma = totalsteps + totalholds;
local actualDP = STATSMAN:GetCurStageStats():GetPlayerStageStats(Player):GetActualDancePoints();
local totalDP = STATSMAN:GetCurStageStats():GetPlayerStageStats(Player):GetPossibleDancePoints();
--DISABLED local text = math.floor(( MA * 7 ) + ( PA * 5 ) + ( GREAT * 3 ) - ( GOOD * 4 ) - ( BOO * 4 ) - ( MISS * 5 ) + ( HOLD * 5 ));
local text = math.floor(( MA * 2 ) + ( PA * 2 ) + ( GREAT * 1 ) - ( BOO * 4 ) - ( MISS * 8 ) + ( HOLD * 6 ));
local perc = math.floor(((text / totalma) * 100) * 1000) / 1000;
local migs = math.floor(((actualDP / totalDP) * 100) * 1000) / 1000;
self:settext( text .. '!/!' .. totalma .. '!MAX!DP\n' .. perc .. '!&!MAX!DP\n' .. actualDP .. "!/!" .. totalDP .. "!MIGS!DP\n" .. migs .. "!&!MIGS!DP");
end
};
};
return vart;
Staiain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 02:44 PM   #19
Wafles
FFR Player
 
Wafles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,988
Send a message via Skype™ to Wafles
Default Re: General StepMania Q&A

Quote:
Originally Posted by Staiain View Post
You'd have to do either of them in .lua script, ask jousway if he's willing to help, I do have a formula but it won' work properly
Goddamnit. I kind of figured this would end up being a pain in the ass

Jousway pls
Wafles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-2-2014, 11:43 PM   #20
Elite Ninja
Kawaii Desu
Difficulty Consulting Cat
Difficulty ConsultantFFR Simfile AuthorD7 Elite KeysmasherFFR Veteran
 
Elite Ninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Age: 30
Posts: 4,811
Default Re: General StepMania Q&A

I have an issue with being able to play solo 6 key on Stepmania 3.9

I used to be able to select it but now after coming back to Stepmania from a long break it won't let me select anything but 4 keys now. I don't know what changed but only thing I've done is move packs in and out of Stepmania since then.

Anyone know how I might be able to fix this?
__________________
Elite Ninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright FlashFlashRevolution