Old 12-5-2010, 12:38 AM   #141
Patashu
FFR Simfile Author
FFR Simfile Author
 
Patashu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: we traced the call...it's coming from inside the house
Age: 28
Posts: 8,602
Send a message via AIM to Patashu Send a message via MSN to Patashu Send a message via Yahoo to Patashu
Default Re: "How do I make a simfile (for FFR)?" - A guide

plz plagiarize from my simfile making guide. it's in stepmania et al
__________________
Patashu makes Chiptunes in Famitracker:
http://soundcloud.com/patashu/8bit-progressive-metal-fading-world
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v216/Mechadragon/smallpackbanner.png
Best non-AAAs: ERx8 v2 (14-1-0-4), Hajnal (3-0-0-0), RunnyMorning (8-0-0-4), Xeno-Flow (1-0-0-3), Blue Rose (35-2-0-20), Ketsarku (14-0-0-0), Silence (1-0-0-0), Lolo (14-1-0-1)
http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee301/xiaoven/solorulzsig.png
Patashu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-6-2011, 05:30 AM   #142
Goldenwind
FFR Simfile Author
FFR Simfile AuthorFFR Veteran
 
Goldenwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Age: 31
Posts: 762
Default Re: "How do I make a simfile (for FFR)?" - A guide

Completely rewrote the entire tutorial.

Included Windows Explorer picture to make things easier to understand.

Provided self-sustained download links for different versions of StepMania, OpenITG, a BPM analyzer, and ITG's "ogg length patch".

More fleshed out information on controls, making the actual chart, and ITG arcade use.

~

Looking for feedback and/or suggestions.
And as always, questions are welcome, should you want to know something.


Quote:
Originally Posted by who_cares973 View Post
Putting information about how to get files working on itg seems a bit pointless when this is a guide to make files (For FFR)
More generally, this is how to make a stepchart. From there, I provide people with information of what they may do with their files.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patashu View Post
plz plagiarize from my simfile making guide. it's in stepmania et al
Was there something you wanted added? Could you provide a link?
__________________
They say there's a sun in the sky...

Last edited by Goldenwind; 01-6-2011 at 05:38 AM..
Goldenwind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 11:55 PM   #143
hXcalltheway
Banned
FFR Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Age: 31
Posts: 550
Send a message via AIM to hXcalltheway Send a message via Yahoo to hXcalltheway
Default Re: "How do I make a simfile (for FFR)?" - A guide

Hi is there an easier way to do this? I followed your steps but I wasn't able to go into stepmania to edit the song.
hXcalltheway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 09:20 AM   #144
CompleteLover332
FFR Player
 
CompleteLover332's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Philippines
Posts: 1
Smile Re: "How do I make a simfile (for FFR)?" - A guide

Ummmm can you please help me do a simfile for ffr because i would like to put rainbow trololol here and i am just new. PLEASEEEEE
CompleteLover332 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 03:44 PM   #145
Darkbreezee
FFR Veteran
FFR Veteran
 
Darkbreezee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 455
Default Re: "How do I make a simfile (for FFR)?" - A guide

Quote:
Originally Posted by CompleteLover332 View Post
Ummmm can you please help me do a simfile for ffr because i would like to put rainbow trololol here and i am just new. PLEASEEEEE
well everything should be there -> Start -> Stepmania -> tools and package exporter -> Create a new file song.
After, u should be able to edit and create new steps for this song tho.
The diw old / sm. files are getting created automatically, you can edit them later to attach banners / titles - difficulties etc.)

Aaaanyways:
If u are rly that new to this site / game etc. , i do NOT recommend u in creating your own charts with the purpose of getting them into the game here.
Since only nearly "perfect" stepped / timed / synced songs will get a chance.
In Addition u need the authors permission, thus there are already a bunch of files from authors like ( Dj Sharpnell e.g.)

First get used to the game, get a feeling on "how" the steps for beats should be etc..
If u want professional help from some well known Simfilers u should ask TC_Halogen, e.g. , or my personal favorite : "bmah" /(<- yes im a fanboy <3 xD). they might give u some hints and suggestions tho.
__________________
Darkbreezee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 11:48 AM   #146
VisD
FFR Simfile Author
FFR Simfile AuthorFFR Veteran
 
VisD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,063
Default Re: "How do I make a simfile (for FFR)?" - A guide

Hey, I've been playing FFR for years now, really on and off but I've only just recently gotten into the idea of stepping files.

Quick question about Stepmania, 3.95 I think it is:

I've got like four songs stepped or am in the midst of stepping at the moment. I also had two songs previously around, but I've since removed them from the My Songs folder because I didn't want to step them anymore. However, when I try and play any of these four songs (that I actually want to step, lol) through the normal game mode, the first time it goes through fine ("1st Round" or whatever.) Strangely, during the Final Round, I am unable to select any of the other three songs - all that's available is one of the two songs that I've already deleted from the My Songs folder, complete with bs steps and all. What do?
VisD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 11:57 AM   #147
psychoangel691
Event & Social Media Manager
All the things
Game ManagerForum ModeratorEvent StaffSimfile JudgeFFR Simfile AuthorFFR Veteran
 
psychoangel691's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Bel Air MD
Posts: 9,772
Send a message via Skype™ to psychoangel691
Default Re: "How do I make a simfile (for FFR)?" - A guide

I'm slightly confused as to what you did exactly but I'm just gonna go with this for now lol. Stepmania makes a cache on your computer. When you add/remove songs that are the same title you need to go into options and click reload songs and courses.This will go over the old cache. Hopefully that helps :]
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charu View Post
My dick is good, thank you very much. It gets love and attention no matter what <3 <3 <3
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaBackpack View Post
also a fucking helicopter is the absolute last place I'd go to find out how big my dick is
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadow_God_10 View Post
Dawg you don't even know. It's so fuckin' small I can use a pen cap to jack off

Quote:
Originally Posted by hi19hi19 View Post
yeah I'mma go for the Rave7 route she's just perfect, stiff on the top, thin in the middle, and has a BIG THICC END that I can just jack on all night UwU best girl
psychoangel691 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 12:46 PM   #148
Darkbreezee
FFR Veteran
FFR Veteran
 
Darkbreezee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 455
Default Re: "How do I make a simfile (for FFR)?" - A guide

the Songs are limited to a special amount of time.
First round , everything up to Marathon, second -> short + mid , final -> only short songs.

To get rid of these "limited" tries, u should disable them via options ^^
__________________
Darkbreezee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 01:14 PM   #149
VisD
FFR Simfile Author
FFR Simfile AuthorFFR Veteran
 
VisD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,063
Default Re: "How do I make a simfile (for FFR)?" - A guide

Hey, thanks guys. I've resolved the issue of the "limited" tries. However, I still can't get rid of the ghost song/simfile, even after reloading courses and all. I rechecked the folder, and the song/simfile definitely isn't there anymore. What else can I do?
VisD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 01:28 PM   #150
megamon88
aka Assertive
FFR Simfile AuthorFFR Music ProducerFFR Veteran
 
megamon88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Waterloo, ON
Age: 25
Posts: 2,567
Default Re: "How do I make a simfile (for FFR)?" - A guide

If you've got windows vista the ghost file could be something to do with user account control (uac). I had problems with that on my laptop until I disabled uac.
__________________
megamon88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 11:13 AM   #151
VisD
FFR Simfile Author
FFR Simfile AuthorFFR Veteran
 
VisD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,063
Default Re: "How do I make a simfile (for FFR)?" - A guide

Nope, I don't have UAC enabled. I can live with it, I guess.

Is there a way to make the arrows go at a faster speed in the editing/syncing mode?
VisD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 01:48 PM   #152
hi19hi19
lol happy
FFR Simfile AuthorFFR Veteran
 
hi19hi19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: DESTINY
Age: 28
Posts: 11,980
Default Re: "How do I make a simfile (for FFR)?" - A guide

Enter -> Player Options -> change the scroll speed

Same thing as when playing a song normally

p.s. same VisD from K2xl!?
__________________



hi19hi19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 02:49 PM   #153
VisD
FFR Simfile Author
FFR Simfile AuthorFFR Veteran
 
VisD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,063
Default Re: "How do I make a simfile (for FFR)?" - A guide

hey! yep lol.
VisD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 06:17 PM   #154
MarioNintendo
Expect delays.
FFR Simfile AuthorFFR Music ProducerFFR Veteran
 
MarioNintendo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal, QC
Age: 26
Posts: 3,862
Default Re: "How do I make a simfile (for FFR)?" - A guide

I recently came across this thread and I think we should add a short mention about DDReamStudio for users who want to try out that editing tool. There's already a mini guide from Patashu on the matter, so maybe just a quick side note in category #3 with a link to this would be enough.

I know the tutorial was made in 2007 and DDReam wasn't used a lot back then, but maybe we should encourage its use since it's a very helpful alternative tool for those like me who dislike stuff about the SM editor (not being able to use your mouse is one prime example).
__________________
Click here to download my complete works!


Quote:
Originally Posted by macgravel View Post
Mario's files are top notch, so every time he submits a file I get excited in my pants.
Click the bricks


MarioNintendo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 07:15 PM   #155
rparty89
FFR Player
 
rparty89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 618
Default Re: "How do I make a simfile (for FFR)?" - A guide

does anyone go to the e-mail for submisson
__________________
rparty89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright FlashFlashRevolution