Go Back   Flash Flash Revolution: Community Forums > Gaming > Stepmania

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-12-2009, 10:37 PM   #1
eplic
FFR Player
 
eplic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 29
Default Why do i have trouble playing Step Mania?

I can almost FC a master level song on FFR, while i go to step mania and its very very hard... I mean it doesnt feel like im hitting the arrows, and i guess in reality im not.. but Is there a reason behind this?
eplic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 10:38 PM   #2
megamon88
aka Assertive
FFR Simfile AuthorFFR Music ProducerFFR Veteran
 
megamon88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Waterloo, ON
Age: 25
Posts: 2,567
Default Re: Why do i have trouble playing Step Mania?

It could be becuase the timing windows are smaller in stepmania.
If you're getting a lot of goods this is probably the case.
__________________
megamon88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 10:40 PM   #3
mnnicol
U mirin'?
FFR Veteran
 
mnnicol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fitness Thread
Age: 31
Posts: 4,127
Default Re: Why do i have trouble playing Step Mania?

The number of boos in your replays are quite something...

Unlike FFR, in Stepmania, if you mash mash mash, it won't keep you alive...it will result in lots of boos/goods
__________________
- Retired Stepman
- I lift things up and put them down
mnnicol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 10:45 PM   #4
eplic
FFR Player
 
eplic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 29
Default Re: Why do i have trouble playing Step Mania?

My Replays i swear to god are INCORRECT! Iv played songs and matched them up with the replay. its NOT ME i dont understand that.
eplic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 10:50 PM   #5
bender5
The 40% Iron Chef
FFR Veteran
 
bender5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Denver
Age: 28
Posts: 4,894
Default Re: Why do i have trouble playing Step Mania?

Quote:
Originally Posted by eplic View Post
My Replays i swear to god are INCORRECT! Iv played songs and matched them up with the replay. its NOT ME i dont understand that.
Replays have something called Average Misses still in them which don't exist anymore, so I'm not going to explain them.

But if you mash a lot in fmo files, and then attempt to do the same thing you won't make it very far.

In other words, you need to work on your control in both ffr and stepmania to get better
__________________
bender5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 10:51 PM   #6
Patashu
FFR Simfile Author
FFR Simfile Author
 
Patashu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: we traced the call...it's coming from inside the house
Age: 29
Posts: 8,603
Send a message via AIM to Patashu Send a message via MSN to Patashu Send a message via Yahoo to Patashu
Default Re: Why do i have trouble playing Step Mania?

the timing windows are a lot tighter in stepmania

in +/- milliseconds, they are:
Marvelous - 0 to 22.5
Perfect - 22.5 to 45
Great - 45 to 90
Good - 90 to 135
Boo - 135 to 180

to combo you have to hit within 0.09 of a second
to not miss (but still get goods/boos) you have to hit within 0.18 of a second
and because of the existence of timing windows which break combo and give negative life, you can't full combo and pass any song by simply mashing faster than the notes
as an approximation, if you hit 1 good/boo for every 10 great/perfect/marvelous your lifebar will remain steady
__________________
Patashu makes Chiptunes in Famitracker:
http://soundcloud.com/patashu/8bit-progressive-metal-fading-world
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v216/Mechadragon/smallpackbanner.png
Best non-AAAs: ERx8 v2 (14-1-0-4), Hajnal (3-0-0-0), RunnyMorning (8-0-0-4), Xeno-Flow (1-0-0-3), Blue Rose (35-2-0-20), Ketsarku (14-0-0-0), Silence (1-0-0-0), Lolo (14-1-0-1)
http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee301/xiaoven/solorulzsig.png

Last edited by Patashu; 01-12-2009 at 10:54 PM..
Patashu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 10:52 PM   #7
mnnicol
U mirin'?
FFR Veteran
 
mnnicol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fitness Thread
Age: 31
Posts: 4,127
Default Re: Why do i have trouble playing Step Mania?

Oh, I was referring to the massive amount of boos. Try less mashing and actually hitting the arrows.

Edit: Yeah, Bender and Patashu got you covered lmao
__________________
- Retired Stepman
- I lift things up and put them down
mnnicol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 11:02 PM   #8
eplic
FFR Player
 
eplic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 29
Default Re: Why do i have trouble playing Step Mania?

Im NOT MASHING! God dont blame me for that! Im trying really hard to press the arrows as they come, but i keep missing them! and i KNOW that im playing them =(
eplic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 11:12 PM   #9
Mr. Bob
FFR Player
 
Mr. Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: k
Posts: 687
Default Re: Why do i have trouble playing Step Mania?

Quote:
Originally Posted by eplic View Post
Im NOT MASHING! God dont blame me for that! Im trying really hard to press the arrows as they come, but i keep missing them! and i KNOW that im playing them =(
raise ya cmod
Mr. Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 11:23 PM   #10
megamon88
aka Assertive
FFR Simfile AuthorFFR Music ProducerFFR Veteran
 
megamon88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Waterloo, ON
Age: 25
Posts: 2,567
Default Re: Why do i have trouble playing Step Mania?

Quote:
Originally Posted by eplic View Post
Im NOT MASHING! God dont blame me for that! Im trying really hard to press the arrows as they come, but i keep missing them! and i KNOW that im playing them =(
Well, if you're getting 50+ boos on most of your songs, it means that you're mashing. Even though you're trying, it doesn't mean that you're actually pressing the keys. Work on lowering your boos, averages and goods, then play stepmania.
__________________
megamon88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 11:28 PM   #11
DayMan951
yfwdbwdsb
FFR Veteran
 
DayMan951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,255
Default Re: Why do i have trouble playing Step Mania?

Quote:
Originally Posted by eplic View Post
Im NOT MASHING! God dont blame me for that! Im trying really hard to press the arrows as they come, but i keep missing them! and i KNOW that im playing them =(

Vertex BETA 1,326 - 322 - 83 - 24 - 214
Vertex BETA 1,334 - 336 - 64 - 21 - 127
Garyoutensei 881 - 224 - 50 - 13 - 109
Piano Etude (Demon Fire) 1,131 - 342 - 198 - 16 - 558
Piano Etude (Demon Fire) 1,078 - 377 - 163 - 69 - 303


Yea, you're mashing. Try easier songs.
__________________
DayMan951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 02:25 AM   #12
Chaosvermin
FFR Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Zealand
Age: 28
Posts: 140
Default Re: Why do i have trouble playing Step Mania?

Is,
Demon Fire 1390 - 237 - 39 - 21 - 115 Combo 614
Mash mash mashing, yes or no?
__________________
Note: I'm not good with writing or speaking my thoughts/ideas, what i have written makes perfect sense to me but to you im not so sure. I apologise in advance.

Quote:
It sounds like love is an amazing feeling. I guess its like dinosaurs, they sound amazing but I'm never gonna see one.
Some guy from some other forum.
Chaosvermin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 03:14 AM   #13
L0NEvvolf
FFR Veteran
FFR Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Age: 29
Posts: 2,023
Send a message via AIM to L0NEvvolf
Default Re: Why do i have trouble playing Step Mania?

I have the same problem and I don't mash FFR just something about how SM is set up, I really dislike it.
L0NEvvolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 03:45 AM   #14
Patashu
FFR Simfile Author
FFR Simfile Author
 
Patashu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: we traced the call...it's coming from inside the house
Age: 29
Posts: 8,603
Send a message via AIM to Patashu Send a message via MSN to Patashu Send a message via Yahoo to Patashu
Default Re: Why do i have trouble playing Step Mania?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chaosvermin View Post
Is,
Demon Fire 1390 - 237 - 39 - 21 - 115 Combo 614
Mash mash mashing, yes or no?
sounds like it's mashing the hardest parts
__________________
Patashu makes Chiptunes in Famitracker:
http://soundcloud.com/patashu/8bit-progressive-metal-fading-world
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v216/Mechadragon/smallpackbanner.png
Best non-AAAs: ERx8 v2 (14-1-0-4), Hajnal (3-0-0-0), RunnyMorning (8-0-0-4), Xeno-Flow (1-0-0-3), Blue Rose (35-2-0-20), Ketsarku (14-0-0-0), Silence (1-0-0-0), Lolo (14-1-0-1)
http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee301/xiaoven/solorulzsig.png
Patashu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 03:49 AM   #15
NekoGon
щ(゚Д゚щ)
FFR Veteran
 
NekoGon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Malaysia
Age: 29
Posts: 2,709
Send a message via MSN to NekoGon
Default Re: Why do i have trouble playing Step Mania?

it's still mashing
do the same in sm and youll probably fail the song
__________________



NekoGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 04:45 PM   #16
robertsona
missa in h-moll
FFR Simfile Author
 
robertsona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: nyc
Age: 24
Posts: 3,960
Default Re: Why do i have trouble playing Step Mania?

for some reason in stepmania i think of the notes as notes with boxes around them; "closed off".
and in ffr everything is a potential note and there are no boxes.

lol
__________________
robertsona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 04:54 PM   #17
Nullifidian
\_(ツ)_/
Global ModeratorFFR Simfile AuthorFFR Veteran
 
Nullifidian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Age: 30
Posts: 1,818
Default Re: Why do i have trouble playing Step Mania?

That's probably because jumps and hands act as one note.
If you don't hit them all, you miss the entire jump/hand. (Though they only count as one note for your lifebar as well. )
But it can give that feeling Robertsona is talking about.
__________________
Nullifidian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 04:59 PM   #18
WTFBrandon
Shout out to Hades
FFR Veteran
 
WTFBrandon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Dan's pillow
Age: 28
Posts: 1,387
Default Re: Why do i have trouble playing Step Mania?

Because SM > FFR
The harder, the better.
No one likes things too easy, if everything was to easy everybody would be good at everything.
__________________
I'm a bad bad Boy.
WTFBrandon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 05:01 PM   #19
kommisar[os]
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Moncton, NB, Canada
Age: 29
Posts: 4,097
Send a message via AIM to kommisar[os] Send a message via MSN to kommisar[os]
Default Re: Why do i have trouble playing Step Mania?

it's way easier to hit stuff in ffr. the timing windows work differently

in sm you can hit it either early or late, ffr it's only early.
kommisar[os] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 06:30 PM   #20
coraleaterlinda
FFR Veteran
FFR Veteran
 
coraleaterlinda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Victoria, TX
Age: 32
Posts: 415
Default Re: Why do i have trouble playing Step Mania?

stepmania does seem to be somewhat more difficult than ffr, but its good practice. it seems to be helping me improve my accuracy.
__________________
coraleaterlinda is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright FlashFlashRevolution