Old 12-25-2004, 11:43 PM   #1
kefkanium
FFR Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 5
Default (probably) stupid SMLAN question

Problem: can't create and host a server that others can join, nor can I join anyone else's. Now, I dunno if SMLAN is only for networked users (there being something else I can use for non-local stuff, like SMOnline or something similar) or what, but I can't figure out how to remedy this. If it helps to know, I'm on dialup and the other people are on DSL or cable. Is there a workaround for this? Help is appreciated.
kefkanium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2004, 11:50 PM   #2
emccky
Banned
FFR Veteran
 
emccky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: word
Posts: 4,811
Send a message via AIM to emccky Send a message via MSN to emccky
Default RE: (probably) stupid SMLAN question

You have to do some port forwarding shit..
emccky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2004, 11:58 PM   #3
kefkanium
FFR Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 5
Default RE: (probably) stupid SMLAN question

Yeah, I know that, I just can't figure out how. I asked a few people but no luck.
kefkanium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2004, 01:25 AM   #4
Velious
FFR Player
 
Velious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,405
Default RE: (probably) stupid SMLAN question

wtf is port forwarding
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_White_Angel
Where do u get quasar
Quote:
Originally Posted by W1nd0wsXP
Can anyone tell me where to find Quasasr..... I'm kinda and trying to find that song Help would be appreciated!
Velious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2004, 08:36 AM   #5
kickassbuddy
FFR Player
 
kickassbuddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: UNITIИU
Posts: 594
Send a message via MSN to kickassbuddy
Default RE: (probably) stupid SMLAN question

Just got a thought. Maybe SMLAN is for the computers that link into your LAN only and SMOnline is for, well, ONLINE!! Though, I maybe wrong.
__________________
kickassbuddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2004, 07:43 AM   #6
7_0ki
FFR Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1
Default

I have the same problem, but the problem is not with smlan i believe, because on cable internet, i can connect to people and they me, but on my 56k dialup, the connection is a no go.. so the problem lies with your isp...

P.S. SMLAN works with everyone online..
7_0ki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2004, 04:33 PM   #7
emccky
Banned
FFR Veteran
 
emccky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: word
Posts: 4,811
Send a message via AIM to emccky Send a message via MSN to emccky
Default

Go to your routers webpage, and find port forwarding. Then go to cnlohr.net/smlan and look up the rest.
emccky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright FlashFlashRevolution