Old 01-23-2014, 06:42 AM   #1
Rapta
Retired Keysmasher
Multiplayer ModeratorFFR Simfile AuthorD7 Elite KeysmasherFFR Veteran
 
Rapta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Auserd
Posts: 1,659
Default In need of new recording program

Lately, I have not been able to record FFR videos due to the fact that I have switched to 60 FPS of game play, and my current recording program, Bandicam cannot record without lagging to the point of having to stop. I also do not have a sound card apparently because after trying many other programs (Fraps, PCHand Screen Recorder, Dyno broadcaster, Etc) Screen Recorder said I don't have a sound card, but Fraps and Bandicam are able to find my sound. If anyone could help me with THAT, or find a better program I could use, it would be well appreciated.
Rapta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 03:12 PM   #2
TC_Halogen
Rhythm game specialist.
Simfile JudgeFFR Simfile AuthorFFR Music ProducerD7 Elite KeysmasherFFR Veteran
 
TC_Halogen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bel Air, Maryland
Age: 28
Posts: 18,622
Send a message via AIM to TC_Halogen Send a message via Skype™ to TC_Halogen
Default Re: In need of new recording program

Have you tried Open Broadcaster Software? It can hook into any game that uses OpenGL using the Game Capture recording method, meaning that you could catch StepMania with it given that you have OpenGL as your video renderer. Otherwise, you can use Program Capture recording method, which allows you to catch any window. I didn't really experiment with it on FFR past 30 FPS -- what are your computer's specs?
TC_Halogen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 04:17 PM   #3
Rapta
Retired Keysmasher
Multiplayer ModeratorFFR Simfile AuthorD7 Elite KeysmasherFFR Veteran
 
Rapta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Auserd
Posts: 1,659
Default Re: In need of new recording program

Quote:
Originally Posted by TC_Halogen View Post
Have you tried Open Broadcaster Software? It can hook into any game that uses OpenGL using the Game Capture recording method, meaning that you could catch StepMania with it given that you have OpenGL as your video renderer. Otherwise, you can use Program Capture recording method, which allows you to catch any window. I didn't really experiment with it on FFR past 30 FPS -- what are your computer's specs?

Rating: 3.2 Windows Experience Index
Processor AMD Athlon (tm) II X2 220 Processor 2.80 GHz
System Type: 64 Bit Operating System
Rapta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 04:31 PM   #4
3lijah
This ma coo coo face
FFR Veteran
 
3lijah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Age: 29
Posts: 812
Send a message via Skype™ to 3lijah
Default Re: In need of new recording program

Damn I thought this had something to do with instrument recording. I was about to spit some knowledge lol. Cant help you with this though oops
__________________
BEST AAAs: Fluttershy (Monster Mix), S.E.B. in B.E.D., EHHS, Dreadnought [Heavy], .357 Magnum, Destination of the Heart, Oops, Boot, Puzzle, Colorful Course,
BLACKFLAGS: Spaceman, A FLOWER GARDEN, Paraclete, Just Why, Pussy Pump, Future Destination
BEST SDGs: Casino fire Kotomi-chan(7-0-0-1), Shitsubou Choco(7-0-0-0) Adventures of Lolo(7-0-0-3), Louder!! Louder!!!! Louder!!!!!!(3-0-0-1), Great Battleship(3-0-0-0), Shatterscape (Bexarametric Remix)(5-0-0-1)
3lijah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 04:58 PM   #5
ffr212
FFR Player
FFR Veteran
 
ffr212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Age: 26
Posts: 276
Default Re: In need of new recording program

OBS will be your best bet, it runs off of GL rather than DX and tends to take less space and memory to do so. But

1. Fraps

2. Camtasia

3. OBS

4. Xsplit

5. DEBUT

6. Bandicam

are the ones I've come across, in order, that I have enjoyed the most and still use to this day, mainly Fraps.

Fraps 1080p- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qu3u68LEcmg

OBS 360p- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ijWw5CBYAuA (I should really re-record this, was on my lenovo so shitty PA, and I could probably render at a MUCH higher setting on my MSI, but there ya go.

In relation to the soundcard problem it may be as simple as right clicking your card and use as default device, other recording programs like DEBUT, adding to the list, require you to download drivers that will help capture sound from any card,so it could be a driver issue. Could also be a codec problem.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheRapingDragon View Post
Adding things like 'um' just looks silly, it's like you're trying to say 'hey I'm shy, look how shy I am, this conveys my shyness,' and it makes you look like you're simply attention-seeking rather than genuinely trying to become part of the community.

Last edited by ffr212; 01-23-2014 at 05:05 PM..
ffr212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 07:10 PM   #6
omega_grunt666
Nescio quid faciam
FFR Veteran
 
omega_grunt666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 889
Default Re: In need of new recording program

+1 OBS

Simple to use, can stream or record, easy scene editing if you want to use an overlay or put in other details like key taps or stop watches for "proof", Hasn't given me any lag issues yet, FREE.

I've had issues with Fraps and Xsplit that I haven't with OBS, plus you need to pay for quality. No clue about Camtasia other than it can't do half the things OBS does.
__________________

omega_grunt666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 08:47 PM   #7
TC_Halogen
Rhythm game specialist.
Simfile JudgeFFR Simfile AuthorFFR Music ProducerD7 Elite KeysmasherFFR Veteran
 
TC_Halogen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bel Air, Maryland
Age: 28
Posts: 18,622
Send a message via AIM to TC_Halogen Send a message via Skype™ to TC_Halogen
Default Re: In need of new recording program

ffr212: for a game capture, it runs through OpenGL -- however, for a window capture, it can hook with any sort of video renderer (I use D3D for StepMania, and using a Game Capture leaves me with a black screen).

EDIT: Rapta -- take a shot with OBS and see how it runs for you; it might be what you're looking for with your specifications.
TC_Halogen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2014, 12:35 AM   #8
Rapta
Retired Keysmasher
Multiplayer ModeratorFFR Simfile AuthorD7 Elite KeysmasherFFR Veteran
 
Rapta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Auserd
Posts: 1,659
Default Re: In need of new recording program

Quote:
Originally Posted by TC_Halogen View Post
ffr212: for a game capture, it runs through OpenGL -- however, for a window capture, it can hook with any sort of video renderer (I use D3D for StepMania, and using a Game Capture leaves me with a black screen).

EDIT: Rapta -- take a shot with OBS and see how it runs for you; it might be what you're looking for with your specifications.
I will see if I can't try it before I head to sleep.

EDIT:I try to run it but it freezes after 2 seconds, and my computer goes into overdrive (making noises like VRAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH) Is there any way to fix that?

Last edited by Rapta; 01-24-2014 at 12:56 AM..
Rapta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2014, 03:32 AM   #9
omega_grunt666
Nescio quid faciam
FFR Veteran
 
omega_grunt666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 889
Default Re: In need of new recording program

- Make sure you have the right version installed (32bit/64bit), check that all your drivers are up to date and if that doesn't fix it, post a log (if it generated one @%AppData%\OBS\logs) on the OBS forums and a dev should be able to help you further. (there is also a log analyzer that might give you more info http://obsproject.com/analyzer)
__________________

omega_grunt666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 03:25 PM   #10
Rapta
Retired Keysmasher
Multiplayer ModeratorFFR Simfile AuthorD7 Elite KeysmasherFFR Veteran
 
Rapta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Auserd
Posts: 1,659
Default Re: In need of new recording program

Quote:
Originally Posted by omega_grunt666 View Post
- Make sure you have the right version installed (32bit/64bit), check that all your drivers are up to date and if that doesn't fix it, post a log (if it generated one @%AppData%\OBS\logs) on the OBS forums and a dev should be able to help you further. (there is also a log analyzer that might give you more info http://obsproject.com/analyzer)
I have tried the log analyzer several times and the same message has come up
"The webpage at http://obsproject.com/analyzer might be temporarily down or it may have moved permanently to a new web address."

All my drivers are updated, and I am not sure how to check which version I have downloaded.

I also cannot access my email to register an account due to it being locked for the stupidest reason.

I turned down the FPS to 30, and it barely can run on 30. I don't think OBS is for me.
Rapta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright FlashFlashRevolution