Flash Flash Revolution

Flash Flash Revolution (http://www.flashflashrevolution.com/vbz/index.php)
-   Critical Thinking (http://www.flashflashrevolution.com/vbz/forumdisplay.php?f=33)
-   -   Can you find God? (http://www.flashflashrevolution.com/vbz/showthread.php?t=119600)

AquaTeen 07-11-2011 12:38 PM

Can you find God?

My sister has been telling me that I'm not a true Christian because I said I found God when I was at an all time low in my life and converted. I was told you can't "Magically" convert to Christianity. I was told that God can only find you and that you can never find God. Is this true? Can you not find God or can you find God? Do you have to wait for God to find you? I'm new to being religious so I don't understand... is it just my sister criticizing me for being a religious person or is she telling me the truth?

Poison- 07-11-2011 12:40 PM

Re: Can you find God?

I hear people saying they found god and that their life has been pretty much flipped upside down from it. I'm not religious though, so I don't really know the "rules".

Spenner 07-11-2011 12:50 PM

Are you wanting to be a true Christian or just one with God? I'm not a Christian, but I can tell you that if you've made a profound spiritual experience then you should embrace it if it helps improve your quality of life. The universally defined "Christianity" might not be the same for everyone as dictated, but if you connect with the guidelines and beliefs then I'd say that's what defines your religion.

Personally I'm not a religious person at all though. Just a spiritual person aside from religion.

PlayTrumpet 07-11-2011 12:58 PM

No one is a "true" Christian by your sister's definition. But what's more "magic" than finding God or better yet, believing in what others consider magic (God)? And you don't have to be a Christian to "find" or believe in God.

- This coming from an agnostic atheist

AquaTeen 07-11-2011 01:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PlayTrumpet (Post 3501817)